Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Juma Al-Falasi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court for being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 19, 2012

    The UAE arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    Signing the third of March petition

Jumaa Saeed Juma Bin Darwish Al Falasi, born in 1964, holds a master degree in quality management from the University of Wollongong in Australia, and a BA in industrial management from the University of Central Michigan. Previously, he worked as a department manager in the Financial and Legal Affairs Department of Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, before moving to work for DP World. 
Al Falasi was known for his courage in expressing his views against injustice and the so-called “security fist”. One of his well-known statements was “justice is stronger than the law,” which put him in risk of harassment before his arrest, as he was physically assaulted by 6 unknown persons.

His apprehension and trial 
On July 19, 2012, the UAE State Security Service arrested the activist Jumah Al-Falasiin front of his house with no legal reasons a legal arrest warrant, and the security forces terrorized his family and searched his home without showing a search warrant.
Al-Falasi was subjected to enforced disappearance in an unknown place until he was brought before court. During detention, he was placed in solitary confinement in a cell that did not meet the minimum requirements such as not having a bathroom or a blanket as he complained of severe cold due to excessive air conditioning. Also, he was not allowed to read books or newspapers nor was he allowed to see visitors. He was completely isolated from the outside world.
Al-Falasi asked the authorities to stop falsely publish and influence the public opinion. He also asked for re-investigations into the legal procedures that will allow him to review the case files before signing unfounded confessions. During investigations, the Prosecution refused to recognize the violations he was exposed to and deprived him from using medical glasses. Plus, the person in charge of his guard insulted him verbally and physically. 
On July 2, 2013, the State Security Court in the Federal Supreme Court sentenced Al-Falasi in the case of illegal secret organization, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before the court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
Al-Falasi is still exposed to inhuman practices in Al-Razeen Prison. One day, he fell unconscious in his cell, and some of the inmates heard his head bumping. His head cracked and bled, and no one knew the reason.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • Violating many legal guarantees for a fair trial, such as the right of the accused to appear before a normal court, or to defend before the judiciary.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

جمعة الفلاسي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 19 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

جمعة سعيد جمعة بن درويش الفلاسي مواليد عام 1964، حاصل على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الجودة من جامعة ولونغونغ الأسترالية، ودرجة البكالوريوس في الإدارة الصناعية من جامعة سنترال ميشيغان بولاية ميشيغان. عمل مديرَ قسم في دائرة الشؤون المالية والقانونية بجهاز أبو ظبي للاستثمار سابقاً قبل أن ينتقل إلى العمل في موانئ دبي العالمية.
 اشتهر الفلاسي بصراحته وجرأته في التعبير عن أراءه المناهضة للظلم ولما يسمى بـ “القبضة الأمنية" وكان من مقولاته المعروفة "العدلُ أقوى من القانون" وهو ما عرّضه قبل اعتقاله للمضايقة حيث اعتدى عليه جسدياً 6 مجهولين.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوة تابعة لجهاز أمن الدولة الإماراتي الناشط جمعة الفلاسي في 19 يوليو 2012  من أمام منزله دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف قانونية، كما قام الأمن بترويع أهله وتفتيش منزله دون إبراز مذكرة تفتيش.
تم اقتياد الفلاسي إلى مكان مجهول وإخفاءه قسرياً حتى ظهور في المحكمة، تم خلالها تسجيل انتهاكات في حق جمعة الفلاسي أثناء احتجازه من ذلك الحبس الانفرادي في زنزانة لا تتوفر فيها أدنى المتطلبات كالحمام والغطاء، فقد كان المعتقل يشتكي من البرد الشديد بسبب التكييف الزائد، وحرمانه من الحصول على الكتب والصحف ومنع الزيارة عنه وبذلك عزله عن العالم الخارجي تماماً.
وقد طالب الفلاسي السلطات الإمارتية التوقف عن تعمد النشر والتأثير على الرأي العام، وإعادة التحقيقات بإجراءات قانونية تسمح له بالاطّلاع على ملفات القضية قبل التوقيع على اعترافات لا أساس لها من الصحة، كما رفضت النيابة خلال التحقيقات إثبات ما تعرض له جمعة من انتهاكات ومنها عدم تمكينه من استعماله نظاراته الطبية، وقيام القائم على حراسته بسبه وإيذاءه نفسياً بتوجيه عبارات نابية له.
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت محكمة أمن الدولة في المحكمة الاتحادية العليا على جمعة الفلاسي في قضية التنظيم السري غير المشروع، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة وكان قد مثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

وما زال جمعة الفلاسي يتعرض إلى الممارسات اللاإنسانية في سجن الرزين، حيث سقط مغشياً عليه في أحد الأيام في زنزانته -وسَمِعَ صوت ارتطام جسده بعض النزلاء في السجن- مما أفقده الوعي، وقد شجّ رأسه ونزف دماً، دون معرفة السبب.