Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Fouad Al-Hammadi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 31, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Fouad Muhammad Abdullah Hassan Al-Hammadi, born in 1963, worked as the head of the Training and Career Development Department at the Ministry of Education and a former educational mentor in the Ministry of Education. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Geology, Chemistry from the College of Science at the Emirates University in 1985. He worked as an educational mentor at the Ministry of Education in Al Ain Educational Zone for 10 years, and a teacher of science and technology, in addition to his membership in the teacher training committee of the Ministry of Education.

His apprehension and trial
On July 31, 2012, security forces abducted Al-Hammadi from his house without a legal arrest warrant, and no one knew where he was until months later. His family was only allowed to visit him three times before the trial and at long intervals as well as he was prevented from seeinghis lawyer until he appeared before the court. .
During his arrest, Al-Hammadi was subjected to ill-treatment and various forms of violation. He was placed in solitary confinement, where it lacked the basic requirements of life such as a bed, a bathroom or a window. The strong night lighting affected his vision and worsened his health and psychological condition. Therefore, it was necessary to undergo a laparoscopic operation in stomach after he was diagnosed with tarantella, vitamin D deficiency, joint pain, dry eyes, and significant weight loss. It is worth mentioning that his health was perfect before his arrest, which proves that he was subjected to various forms of torture and intimidation. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Hammadi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trail lacked the standards of a fair trial in accordance with international human rights agreements. The court denied his right to make his statements as they ignored them over writing an article, considering it a terrorist crime without any material evidence. Also, they failed to investigate into the interrogation circumstances and the arbitrary detention he was exposed to. Instead, they issued a final and unappealable judgment.
During his detention in Al-Razeen prison, Al-Hammadi continue to endure violations. 
- Prevention of visits and phone calls for long periods without reasons. 
- Placed in solitary confinement with his hands and legs tied. 
- Confiscated all his personal properties.
- Surveillance cameras all over in the room. 

These violations affected his family as well. They withdrew a scholarship from his daughter and prevented her from traveling. Also, they subjected the family to discrimination in legal procedures.
Al-Hammadi was among the names mentioned in the UN reports of cases of oppression and torture of prisoners of conscience in the UAE prisons. The human rights parties exerted pressure on the UAE authorities to comply with their obligations with human rights conventions under international law.

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

فؤاد الحمادي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم بالسجن على الحمادي 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 31 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

فؤاد محمد عبد الله حسن الحمادي مواليد عام 1963، عمل رئيساً لقسم التدريب والتنمية الوظيفية بوزارة التربية والتعليم سابقاً، وموجه تربوي في وزارة التربية والتعليم، حاصل على بكالوريوس علوم (جيولوجيا– كيمياء) من كلية العلوم بجامعة الإمارات في 1985، كما عمل موجهاً تربوياً بوزارة التربية والتعليم بمنطقة العين التعليمية لمدة 10 سنوات، ومدرساً لمادة العلوم والتكنولوجيا، بالإضافة إلى عضويته عضو في لجنة تدريب المعلمين بوزارة التربية والتعليم.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في 31 يوليو2012، قامت قوات من الأمن باختطاف الحمادي من أمام منزله دون مذكرة اعتقال قانونية، ولم يعرف مكانه إلا بعد أشهر من الاعتقال، كما لم يتم السماح لأسرته بزيارته إلا 3 مرات قبل المحاكمة وعلى فترات متباعدة ومنع من لقاء محاميه إلى حين المثول أمام المحكمة.
إبان اعتقاله، تعرض الأستاذ الحمادي لمعاملة مهينة وانتهاك لحقه، فقد وضع في حبس انفرادي لا تتوفر فيه أبسط المتطلبات الحياتية من سرير وحمام أو نافذة مع إضاءة ليلية قوية أثّرت على نظره، مما أدى إلى تدهور حالته الصحية والنفسية، فكان من الضروري خضوعه لعملية منظار في المعدة بعد أن تم تشخيصه بمرض اللقمة الهيسترية ونقص في الفيتامين دال وآلام في المفاصل وجفاف العيون مع انخفاض كبير في الوزن، علماً إنه كان في صحة ممتازة قبل اعتقاله، وهو ما يثبت تعرّضه للتعذيب والترهيب طيلة فترة اعتقاله.
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الأستاذ فؤاد الحمادي بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة، بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع، باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).
تم توثيق انتهاك حق فؤاد الحمادي في محاكمة عادلة بما يتوافق مع النصوص والاتفاقات الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، فقد صادرت المحكمة حقه في الإدلاء بأقواله وعدم الاعتداد بها على خلفية التعبير عن الرأي في مقال واعتبار ذلك جريمة إرهابية دون أي دليل مادي، كما لم يتم النظر في ظروف التحقيق والاعتقال التعسفية والاكتفاء بحكم نهائي غير قابل للطعن.
تتواصل الانتهاكات في فترة السجن التي يقضيها الحمادي بسجن الرزين، من منع للزيارة والاتصالات الهاتفية لفترات طويلة دون أسباب، كما يتعرّض للحبس الانفرادي مع تقييد اليدين والرجلين ووجود كاميرات مراقبة بالغرفة، ومصادرة الأغراض الشخصية والقيام بحملات تفتيش مفاجئة وليلية بدافع التأثير على نفسية المعتقل وترهيبه، بالإضافة إلى الحرمان من ممارسة الشعائر الدينية الجماعية، وعدم توفير الغذاء والرعاية الصحية اللازمين للمعتقل، وطالت هذه المعاملة الجائرة أسرة الحمادي فسحبت من ابنته المنحة الدراسية التي تحصلت عليها ومنعت من السفر وتعرض بقية أفراد الأسرة إلى التمييز في الإجراءات القانونية.
كان الحمادي من بين الأسماء التي ذكرت في التقارير الأممية عن وجود حالات قمع وتعذيب لمعتقلي الرأي في السجون الإمارتية، وقد توجهت الأطراف الحقوقية إلى الضغط على السلطات الإماراتية للامتثال لالتزاماتها باتفاقيات حقوق الإنسان بموجب القانون الدولي.