Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ahmed Al-Nuaimi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • August, 2012

    The authorities kept him jailed although he was supposed to get released

  • May 18, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Ahmed Rashid Ibrahim Al-Tabour Al-Nuaimi, born in 1963, is a former director of the Eslah Society. On March 3, 2011, he along with human rights activists signed the Third of March petition, addressing the President of UAE, Khalifa bin Zayed to bring about reforms in the legislative authority, including fair elections for the National Assembly in order fully exercise powers.

His apprehension and trial
On May 18, 2012, the UAE security forces arbitrarily arrested Al-Nuaimi from his house with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant, and terrorized him and his family. He was subjected to enforced disappearance until he appeared before court. 
 During his detention, Al-Nuaimi was subjected to ill-treatment and various forms of torture. He was severely beaten to sign fake confessions to make false accusations against him. He was repeatedly taken blindfolded and handcuffed from solitary confinement to an unknown place to severely beat him with a rubber bar on his back and the soles of his feet, in an attempt to rob of his dignity. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people including Al-Nuaimi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated to secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial and witnessed a number of legal violations, including failure to investigate into the arbitrary arrest and enforced disappearance he was exposed to, ignoring his statements that he was subjected to torture, beatings and insults. They did not care about his deteriorating health condition and the clear signs of torture over his body. Instead, they issued a final unappealable ruling without any material evidence of the charges brought against him. It is also worth noting that he was denied his right to legal representation.
Al-Nuaimi is serving his sentence in Al-Razeen Prison along with  a number of prisoners of conscience, who are subjected to flagrant violations against human rights and all international conventions against torture. He is not allowed to see visitors, to read and write, or practice any activities, even religious rituals. The rooms are overcrowded with no ventilation or windows. They do not provide him with proper food; instead, he subjected to continual intimidation in solitary confinement.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Ignoring his troubled health

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

أحمد الطابور

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • أغسطس 2012:

    استمرار اعتقاله رغم صدور حكم بالإفراج عنه.

  • 18 مايو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

أحمد راشد إبراهيم الطابور النعيمي مواليد عام 1963، مدير جمعية الإصلاح سابقاً، وواحدٌ من مجموعة من نشطاء حقوق الإنسان الذين وقَّعُوا على عريضة الإصلاح التي وُجِّهَت إلى رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الشيخ خليفة بن زايد، في يوم 3 مارس2011، والتي دعت إلى إجراء إصلاحات في السلطة التشريعية تشمل إجراء انتخابات نزيهة للمجلس الوطني، والسماح له بأداء دوره وممارسة صلاحياته بشكل كامل.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في 18 مايو 2012، اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الناشط أحمد طابور النعيمي من منزله بطريقة تعسفية وتفتيشه وترويع أسرته بدون مذكرة اعتقال قانونية وبقي النعيمي في الإخفاء القسري حتى ظهوره للمحاكمة.

تعرض النعيمي طيلة فترة إحتجازه للمعاملة المهينة والتعذيب والضرب لإجباره على التوقيع على اعترافات مزوّرة وتلفيق تهم باطلة في حقه، حيث تكرر اقتياده وهو معصوب العينين ومقيد بالأصفاد من زنزانته الانفرادية إلى جهة غير معلومة والاعتداء عليه  بالضرب بواسطة قضيب مطاطي على ظهره وعلى باطن قدميه، في محاولة للحطّ من معنوياته والإساءة لكرامته مواطناً وإنساناً.
 
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الناشط أحمد طابور النعيمي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحدَ أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).  

لم تخلُ محاكمة أحمد طابور النعيمي من جملة من الاختلالات الإجرائية شكلاً ومضموناً، حيث لم يتم خلالها التحقيق في ما تعرض له النعيمي من اعتقال تعسفي واخفاء قسري، كما لم يتم الاعتداد بأقواله من تعرضه للتعذيب والضرب والإهانة بل تم تجاهل حالته الصحية المتدهورة وعلامات التعذيب الواضحة على جسده، وانتهت المحاكمة بإصدار حكم نهائي لا طعن فيه دون وجود أي أدلة واضحة على التهم الموجهة للنعيمي ودون السماح له بالتمثيل القانوني حسب ما تقتضيه القوانين الإمارتية.

يقضي أحمد الطابور النعيمي فترة حبسه في سجن الرزين حيث يتعرض معتقلي الرأي لاعتداءات خارقة لحقوق الإنسان ولكل الاتفاقيات الدولية المناهضة للتعذيب، والمتمثلة بالأساس في حرمانهم من الزيارة ومن ممارسة أي أنشطة للترفيه، فضلاً عن وجودهم في ظروف غير صحية من غرف مكتظة دون تهوية أو نوافذ، وتقديم طعام رديء، وممارسة الترهيب المتكرر بالحبس الانفرادي ومنع تأدية الشعائر الدينية الجماعية.