Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

AbdulRahim Al-Zarouni

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated to a secret organization

  • July 25, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

AbdulRahim Muhammad AbdulRahman Al-Zarouni, born in 1969, is a strategic, administrative and media planning consultant. He holds a BA in education and psychology from the United Arab Emirates University. He worked as an executive director for Hayatuna TV channel, a statistical researcher in the Ministry of Education, and director of financial and administrative affairs in Al-Majd TV channel. 
Al-Zarouni participated in many scientific and media conferences, including Al-Qymi Media Conference in February 2011 in Kuwait, the King Saud University (KSU) conference, and the Saudi Management Association in Riyadh in 2010.
Al-Zarouni is among dozens of emirates who supported the Third of March petition, presented by a group of leaders, academics, government officials, advocates and scholars, offering their suggestions, experiences and recommendations to bring about reform in the UAE.

His apprehension and trial
On July 25, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Zarouni from his family's home in Al-Shabiya Al-Bayda in Umm Al-Quwain without an arrest warrant. During his detention, Al-Zarouni was subjected to enforced disappearance, and was prevented from seeing or contacting his lawyer, family and wife. Also, he was subjected to constant lighting and ill-treatment. All of his personal properties were confiscated. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Zarouni to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial and did not meet international human rights standards. It witnessed various legal violations, including the failure to investigate the enforced disappearance he was subjected to and not considering his statements that he was subjected to torture, which violates the International Convention against Torture, to which the UAE has acceded since 2012.
Al-Zarouni is serving his sentence in Al-Razeen prison along with a group of prisoners of conscience. In there, they are subjected to ill-treatment and various forms of psychological and physical torture, including constant lighting, deprivation of visits or any other activities such as religious rituals, and deprivation of proper medical treatment.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Deprivation of proper needed treatment

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

عبد الرحيم الزرعوني

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 25 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

عبد الرحيم محمد عبد الرحمن الزرعوني مواليد عام 1969، خبير استراتيجي وإداري ومستشار تخطيط إعلامي، حاصل على شهادة في التربية وعلم نفس في جامعة الإمارات العربية، وعمل مديراً تنفيذياً لقناة حياتنا بالإضافة إلى عمله كباحث إحصائي في وزارة التربية والتعليم، ومدير الشؤون المالية والإدارية بقنوات المجد الفضائية.
شارك الزرعوني في العديد من المؤتمرات العلمية والإعلامية، منها مؤتمر الإعلام القيمي، في فبراير 2011 بالكويت، ومؤتمر "جامعة الملك سعود" وجمعية الإدارة السعودية بالرياض في عام 2010.
الزرعوني واحد ضمن العشرات من رموز الإمارات الذين أيَّدوا عريضة الإصلاح المعروفة باسم (عريضة 3 مارس)، التي قدّمها نخبة من القادة والأكاديميين والمسئولين الحكوميين والدعاة والعلماء، فيها مقترحاتهم وعصارة خبراتهم وتوصياتهم الإصلاحية لفائدة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي عبد الرحمن الزرعوني في 25 يوليو 2012 من منزل أسرته في الشعبية البيضاء بإمارة أم القيوين دون أمر قضائي. إبان اعتقاله، تعرض الزرعوني، للإخفاء القسري. فقد تم وضعه في الحبس ومصادرة أغراضه الشخصية، علاوة على منعه من رؤية محاميه أو الاتصال به، كما لم يسمح له بالزيارة أهله وزوجته ويعاني من الإضاءة المستمرة والمعاملة المهينة أثناء فترة احتجازه. 

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على عبد الرحيم بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

كانت محاكمة الزرعوني غير عادية ولا تتفق حولها المعايير الحقوقية الدولية، من ذلك عدم التحقيق فيما تعرض له الضحية من اخفاء قسري، عدم الاعتداد بأقواله من تعرضه للتعذيب وهو ما يخالف الاتفاقية الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب المنضمة لها دولة الإمارات منذ عام 2012.

كما تم حرمان الزرعوني من التمثيل القانوني له، وإصدار حكم نهائي في حقه غير قابل للطعن رغم غياب أي أدلة مادية ضده. يقضي الزرعوني فترة سجنه مع مجموعة من معتقلي الرأي في سجن الرزين، حيث يلقى معاملة غير إنسانية وانتهاكات نفسية وجسدية تمثلت في تعريضه للإضاءة الشديدة والمستمرة ومنعه من الزيارات أو ممارسة أي أنشطة رياضية ودينية خارج الزنزانة.