Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ahmed Al-Mutairi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 30, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Ahmed Saif Khalaf Saleh Al-Matri, born in 1965, holds a master's degree in water resources engineering and management. He held several key positions, including acting director of the Department of Combating Desertification in the Ministry of Environment and Water and scientific and advocacy articles writer. 

His apprehension and trial 

On July 30, 2012, the UAE security forces arbitrarly arrested Al-Matri from his house as they stormed it and searched it without a legal search and arrest warrant. Then, he was subjected to enforced disappearance, and no one knew his place or contacted him.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Matri, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal group, in case knonw the “UAE 94.”
His trial lacked the standards of a fair trial as it witnessed a number of legal violations including the denial of the detainee’s right to legal representation. They ignored his statements that he was was subjected to degrading treatment and failed to investigate into the detainee’s allegations of an attempt to force him to sign confessions under threat and torture, being placed in solitary confinement.
Many human rights organizations considered the arrest and trial of Al-Matari and other prisoner of conscience in the "UAE 94" case as a backward step in the freedom of opinion and expression, which international conventions gurarnteed. Al-Razeen prison, known as one of the most horrific political prisons due to the forms of torture, infringing physical inviolability and disrespecting the most basic human requirements such as health care and adequate food, is another aspect of tyranny and injustice by the UAE authorities. This aims to restrict freedom of opinion and put an end to any reform movement in the country.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Disrespecting the most basic human requirements such as health care and adequate food

  • Violating many legal guarantees for a fair trial, such as the right of the accused to appear before a normal court, or to defend before the judiciary.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

أحمد المطيري

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 30 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

أحمد سيف خلف صالح المطري مواليد عام 1965، حاصل على الماجستير في هندسة وإدارة الموارد المائية وعمل مديراً لإدارة مكافحة التصحر بالوكالة في وزارة البيئة والمياه سابقاً، وكاتب مقالات علمية ودعوية

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الناشط أحمد المطري في 30 يوليو 2012، وقد كان اعتقاله تعسفياً حيث تم اقتحام منزله وتفتيشه دون إبراز مذكرة تفتيش واعتقال قانونية، ثم بعد ذلك تم إخفاء المطري في مكان غير ومنع من الاتصال بأسرته أو محاميه.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الناشط أحمد المطري، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع، وذلك في قضية ما يعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94)

تم توثيق جملة من الانتهاكات القانونية لمحاكمته التي كانت تفتقر إلى معايير المحاكمات العادلة ومن ذلك حرمان المعتقل من التمثيل القانوني وعدم الاعتداد بأقواله فيما تعرض له من معاملة سيئة أثناء الاعتقال وإخفاء قسري بعده، فضلا عن عدم التحقيق فيما جاء من ادعاءات للمعتقل بمحاولة إجباره على التوقيع على الاعترافات تحت التهديد والتعذيب بالإضافة إلى وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي.

اعتبرت العديد من المنظمات الحقوقية اعتقال ومحاكمة المطري وغيره من المعتقلين في قضية (الإمارات 94) هي ضرب لحرية الرأي والتعبير التي جاءت بها الاتفاقيات الدولية حول حقوق الإنسان، كما أن تواصل الانتهاكات داخل سجن الرزين الذي اشتهر بأنه أحد أفظع السجون السياسية لما يحدث داخله من أشكال للتعذيب والانتهاك للحرمة الجسدية بالضرب والتنكيل وعدم احترام لأبسط المتطلبات الإنسانية من عدم توفر الرعاية الصحية والغذاء المناسب، هو وجه آخر من وجوه الاستبداد والظلم التي تمارسها السلطات الإمارتية للحد من حرية الرأي ووضع حد لأي تحرك إصلاحي في البلاد.