Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Saif Al-Ajlah

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • April 2, 2014

    the Working Group on Arbitrary Detention issued opinion No. 60/2013, which stipulates that Dr. Saif Al-Ajlah is arbitrarily detained and calls on the authorities to immediately release him

  • July 2, 2013

    been sentenced to 10 years imprisonment and additional 3 years probation

  • March 13, 2013

    been transferred from the unlawful detention center to Al-Razeen prison

  • March 4, 2013

    the beginning of the trial

  • July 24, 2012

    been arrested without an arrest warrant and been detained in unlawful centers

  • March 3, 2011

    signing the third of March petition

Dr. Saif Muhammad Al-Ajlah, born in 1958, is an expert and president of the Teachers Association. He holds a BA in History from the United Arab Emirates University, and a PhD in Leadership Behavior of school heads from the University of Wales, Cardiff in the United Kingdom. In addition, Dr. Al-Ajlah is a member of the Arabian Association for Human Resources Development and a member of the Judging Committee for Educational Research in the Rashid Bin Humaid Cultural and Sciences Award in Ajman.
He held a significant number of senior positions including Director General of the Marriage Fund (2009) and General Director of Sharjah Charity House (2011), and editor-in-chief of Al-Muallem magazine (from 1987 to 1993).

His apprehension and trial
On July 24, 2012, UAE security forces arrested him without any charge or an arrest warrant. He was taken to an unknown place, kept there for eight months, and deprived of his right to see a lawyer. 
During his detention, he was subjected to various forms of violations and torture, including solitary confinement, continuous strong light, and voices from loudspeakers that created a damaging impact on his psychological and neurological health. Authorities refused to allow doctors to see him although he asked for specialized treatment for ear-ringing, hand-shivering, and deteriorating neurological health. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Dr. Saif, to 10 years imprisonment with an additional 3 years of being placed on probation. He appeared before the court as a member of the group known as the "UAE 94" group.

Violations continued against Dr. Saif while he was kept in the infamous Al-Razeen prison, where he is currently serving his sentence. He is deprived of regular visits, books, and the sunlight is subjected to intimidation and is not allowed to practice his religious rituals. 
The United Nations issued a resolution affirming that Dr. Saif was arbitrarily arrested, and calling the UAE government to release him, given the absence of a legal justification for his detention, along with "vague accusations" brought against him.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Depriving the victim of legal representation, as lawyers had been threatened not to represent cases, which violates UN Principles and Guidelines on Access to Legal Aid in Criminal Justice Systems.

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

سيف محمد العجلة

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 إبريل 2014 :

    أصدر الفريق العامل المعني بالاحتجاز التعسفي الرأي رقم 60/2013، والذي ينص على أن الدكتور سيف العجلة محتجز بشكل تعسفي ويدعو السلطات إلى الإفراج عنه فورًا.

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات و3 سنوات مراقبة.

  • 13 مارس 2013:

    نقله من مركز احتجاز خارج إطار القانون إلى سجن الرزين.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    بدء المحاكمة.

  • 24 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقال بدون مذكرة قانونية في مراكز احتجاز خارج إطار القانون.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

الدكتور سيف محمد العجلة آل علي من مواليد سنة 1958، وهو خبير ورئيس جمعية المعلمين، تحصل على درجة البكالوريوس في التاريخ من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ودرجة الدكتوراه في السلوك القيادي لمديري المدارس من جامعة ويلز بكاردف في المملكة المتحدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الدكتور سيف العجلة عضو الجمعية العربية لتنمية الموارد البشرية، وعضو لجنة تحكيم البحوث التربوية في جائزة الشيخ راشد بن حميد في إمارة عجمان
تولى الدكتور سيف العجلة عدة مناصب مهمة منها: مدير عام صندوق الزواج (2009) ومدير عام بيت الشارقة الخيري (2011) كما أنه ترأس تحرير مجلة المعلم (من 1987 إلى 1993).

اعتقاله ومحاكمته: 
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الدكتور سيف العجلة في 24 يوليو 2012 دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف، حيث تم اقتياده إلى مكان مجهول لمدة ثمانية أشهر و منعه من رؤية محاميه.
تعرض الدكتور سيف إلى شتى صنوف الانتهاكات أثناء احتجازه من التعذيب، والحبس الانفرادي ،واستمرار الإضاءة الليلية الشديدة والأصوات المنبعثة من المكبرات التي أثرت على صحته النفسية والعصبية، كما رفضت السلطات عرضه على طبيب متخصص رغم طلبه الحصول على العلاج التخصصي لعلاج طنين الأذنين ورجفة اليدين وتدهور حالته العصبية.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الدكتور سيف بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تواصلت الانتهاكات في حق الدكتور سيف أثناء وجوده في سجن الرزين سيء السمعة، حيث يقضي فترة محكوميته حالياً، فهو ممنوع من الزيارة المنتظمة ويتعرض إلى الترهيب والحرمان من الكتب والخروج الى الشمس، كما أنه تم منعه من أداء الشعائر الدينية الجماعية.
أصدرت الامم المتحدة قراراً أكد على وجود الطابع التعسفي لاعتقال الدكتور سيف، وطالب الحكومة الإماراتية بالإفراج عنه، نظراً لغياب مسوّغٍ قانوني للقبض عليه واعتقاله" إضافة إلى "الاتهامات الغامضة" التي وجهت إليه.