Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Hassan Al-Jabri

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment and additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court for being affiliated with a secret organization

  • August 2018

    UAE authorities arrested him without an arrest warrant

  • 2011

    Al-Jabri and 6 others lost their nationality on the orders of the UAE authorities

Hassan Munif Abdullah Al-Jabri, born in 1960, holds a BA in Public Administration from the United Arab Emirates University in 1981.
Al-Jabri held several positions, including Deputy Director of Abu Dhabi Region for Planning and Management from 1981 to 1994, and Director of the Executive Office at the Ministry of Presidential Affairs from 1994 to 2007.
Due to his affiliation with Al Eslah Society, Al-Jabri was subjected to harassment by the UAE authorities. In 2011, Al-Jabri and other 6 other members of Al Eslah Soceity lost their nationality without a judicial decision, on the grounds that he threatens the sovereignty of the state. They claim that he is associated with suspicious regional and international organizations and figures. 

His apprehension and trial
The UAE state security arrested Al-Jabir when he was summoned by the department of passports. In there, he was given a choice between the Comorian nationality or to get arrested due to the insufficient of legal papers to enter the UAE. In response, he preferred to get arrested over losing his nationality.
As he was arbitrarily arrested, he was not allowed to have any contact with his family or his lawyer or informing them of the place of detention. Al-Jabri was subjected to enforced disappearance for more than seven months between 2012 and 2013, in an unknown place.
During his detention, Al-Jabri was subjected to various forms of violations as he experienced the denial of bail. He was not allowed to use his legal representation nor was he allowed to see his lawyers. He was kept in solitary confinement on the ground and with constant night light that cause him visual impairment. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Jabir, known as the “UAE 94” group, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of their affiliation with a secret illegal organization.
His trial lacked all the standards of fair trials, witnessing legal violations due to the absence of any material evidence against him. Also, Al-Jabri's statements that he was subjected to threats and intimidation to extract untrue confessions were ignored. Even though he was involved in official positions in the country, they considered his social activity a terrorist crime.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • The UAE authorities continued their inhuman treatment against Al-Jabri by threatening his family to have his nationality lost. His son, Abdulaziz, experienced unfair dismissal from his job and travel ban as a policy of pressure. In 2018, Al-Jabri was not allowed to attend his mother's funeral or even practice the funeral prayer in prison

  • Al-Jabri is kept in Al-Razeen prison, where degrading and inhumane conditions exist. In there, he is denied his basic rights, such as the right to proper specialized treatment as his psychological and physical condition deteriorated due to ongoing assaults by jailors. All of his personal properties have been confiscated. He was deprived of reading, writing, and practicing religious rituals, even of making phone calls and visits.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

حسن الجابري

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • أغسطس 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 2011:

    السلطات الإماراتية تصدر قراراً بسحب الجنسية من الجابري و6 آخرين.

حسن منيف عبد الله الجابري من مواليد 1960، حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الإدارة العامة من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، عام 1981. 
تقلد الجابري عدة مناصب، منها نائب مدير منطقة أبو ظبي للتخطيط والإدارة (من سنة 1981 إلى سنة 1994)، ومدير للمكتب التنفيذي في وزارة شؤون الرئاسة (من سنة 1994 إلى سنة 2007).
وبسبب انتمائه لجمعية الإصلاح، تعرّض الجابري للتضييق من السلطات الإمارتية. ففي عام 2011 صدر في حقه مع 6 آخرين من المنتمين لجمعية الإصلاح أمر يقضي بسحب جنسيته الإمارتية بدون قرار قضائي، وذلك بدعوى القيام بأعمال ضد "أمن الدولة" وسلامتها وذلك لارتباطه بمنظمات وشخصيات إقليمية ودولية مشبوهة كما تدّعي السلطات. 

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقل الجابري من قبل جهاز أمن الدولة بعد أن تم استدعائه إلى إدارة الجوازات، حيث تم تخييره بين جنسية جزر القمر أو الاعتقال لعدم وجود أوراق قانونية لإقامته في الامارات لكن الجابر رفض التخلي عن جنسيته الإماراتية وفضل الاعنقال.
 وإبان اعتقاله التعسّفي، مُنع الجابري من التواصل مع عائلته أو محاميه وإعلامهم بمكان الاعتقال. كما تعرّض الجابري للإخفاء القسري لأكثر من سبعة أشهر بين عام 2012 وعام 2013 بمكان غير معلوم. 
تعرّض الجابري طيلة فترة توقيفه إلى شتى صنوف الانتهاك من تمديد فترة التوقيف ومنعه من حقه في الخروج بكفالة، كما تواصل حبسه في زنانة انفرادية دون توفر سرير، إضافة إلى الإضاءة الليلية المستمرة التي سببت له ضعف النظر، وحرمانه من مقابلة محاميه ومنع الزيارة عنه.
في 2 يوليو 2013، أصدرت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصًا، وهي المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94)، من بينهم الجابري، حكماً بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء الى تنظيم سري غير مشروع.
كانت محاكمة الأستاذ حسن الجابري تفتقر لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة والتي شهدت انتهاكات قانونية من غياب لأي أدلة مادية ضده وعدم الاعتداد بأقوال الجابري من تعرضه للتهديد والترهيب لانتزاع اعترافات لا صحة لها، بالإضافة لاعتبار نشاط الجابري الاجتماعي جريمة إرهابية رغم أن نشاطه كان متّصلاً بمناصبه الرسمية في دولة الإمارات.