Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ibrahim Al-Marzouki

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 2, 2013

    He was brought before court for being affiliated with a secret organization

  • March 26, 2012

    UAE authorities arrested him without an arrest warrant

  • December 4, 2011

    Authorities issued a verdict to withdraw Al-Marzouki’s nationality without a judicial decision for getting involved in acts that threaten the sovereignty of the UAE

Ibrahim Al-Marzouki, born in 1971, graduated from the Bani Yas Institute for Holy Quran Memorization. He holds a BA in Islamic Studies from the United Arab Emirates University.
Al-Marzouqi was a teacher for more than 15 years in a number of state schools. He held several positions: the Director of Programs at the Abu Dhabi Educational Youth Foundation, Vice President of the Association of Islamic Student Studies at the United Arab Emirates University, and Director of Activities and Programs at the Emirates Heritage Club.
He was involved in a various voluntary works. He is a member of many associations, including the Emirates Scout Association, the Society for the Revival of Folklore, the Eslah Society, the Teachers Association, and the Abu Dhabi Charitable Authority. He was also among the volunteers in the first military batch during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait.
Due to his social activity, Al-Marzouki became a target of harassment and intimidation by UAE authorities, especially after signing the reform petition known as the Third of March petition. On December 4, 2011, he lost his nationality on the grounds that he is carrying out acts that threaten the sovereignty of the country. 

His apprehension and trial
On March 26, 2012, UAE security forces arrested Al-Marzouki within the Passport Department, without a legal arrest warrant, and he was subjected to enforced disappearance from August 2012 to March 2013.
During his detention, he was subjected to various forms of violations, as he was placed in solitary confinement with no beds or blankets. He was not allowed to see anybody, nor was he allowed to see a lawyer. 
During detention, they kept carrying out their inhumane practices against Al-Marzouki as he was repeatedly interrogated for long periods with no legal reasons. His detention was extended, and he experienced the denial of bail. The UAE authorities deliberately influenced public opinion by spreading inaccuracies. His personal properties were confiscated, he was placed in solitary confinement, and he was subjected to constant light all night.
These practices amounted to physical assaults as he was savagely beat with a hose, was poked with nails, kept standing for long hours, from 8 am to 12 midnight under the air conditioning, even though they knew he suffered from back pain.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including him, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
His trial lacked the standards of a fair trial, witnessing  legal violations, including the absence of material evidence, and the denial of the detainee's right to legal representation. Human rights organizations reported these in disappointing incidents, as evidence of the tragic decline of public rights and freedoms in the UAE. They intentionally use political trials against detainees before the Federal Court, which cannot be appealed; they extract confessions under torture. Also, physical and moral assaults against Al-Marzouki and other detainees were rejected. 
Violations continued against Al-Marzouki inside Al-Razeen prison, where he spends most of his detention in solitary confinement without ventilation, health care, or proper food. Also, he is denied his right to regular visits. 

Violations against the detainee

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

  • Depriving the victim of legal representation, as lawyers had been threatened not to represent cases, which violates UN Principles and Guidelines on Access to Legal Aid in Criminal Justice Systems

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

إبراهيم المرزوقي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 26 مارس 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 4 ديسمبر 2011:

    أصدرت السلطات قراراً بسحب الجنسية من المرزوقي دون أمر قضائي بدعوى القيام بأعمال تهدد الأمن الوطني لدولة الإمارات.

إبراهيم المرزوقي من مواليد سنة 1971، تخرج من معهد بني ياس لتحفيظ القران الكريم، وحاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الآداب، تخصص دراسات إسلامية من جامعة الامارات العربية المتحدة. 
عمل المرزوقي مدرساً لأكثر من 15 عاماً في عدد من مدارس الدولة، كما تقلد العديد من المناصب منها مدير البرامج في مؤسسة شباب أبو ظبي التربوية، ونائب رئيس جمعية الدراسات الإسلامية الطلابية في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومدير الأنشطة والبرامج في نادي تراث الإمارات.
 له العديد من المشاركات التطوعية، فهو عضو في جمعيات كثيرة منها: جمعية كشافة الإمارات، وجمعية إحياء التراث الشعبي، وجمعية الإصلاح، وجمعية المعلمين، وهيئة أبو ظبي الخيرية. وكان كذلك من بين المتطوعون ضمن الدفعة العسكرية الأولى أثناء غزو العراق للكويت.
بسبب نشاطه الاجتماعي، أصبح الأستاذ ابراهيم المرزوقي هدفاً للمضايقة والترهيب من السلطات الإماراتية وخاصة بعد توقيعه على عريضة الإصلاح المعروفة باسم (عريضة 3 مارس)، ففي 4 ديسمبر 2011 صدر أمر بسحب جنسية الدولة عنه دون أمر قضائي بدعوى القيام بأعمال تهدد الأمن الوطني لدولة الإمارات.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
 في 26 مارس 2012 اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي المرزوقي داخل إدارة الجوازات، بدون مذكرة اعتقال قانونية، وبقي المرزوقي في الإخفاء القسري من أغسطس 2012 الى مارس 2013.
تعرض المرزوقي أثناء اعتقاله من قبل قوات الأمن، لممارسات مهينة، فقد تم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي بدون سرير أو غطاء، وتم منعه من الزيارة ومقابلة المحامي.
تواصلت هذه الممارسات أثناء فترة الاحتجاز، حيث كان يتم التحقيق مع المرزوقي لفترات طويلة بصورة متكررة دون داع قانوني، مع تمديد حجزه ورفض طلب إخلاء سبيله بكفالة ،وتعمد السلطات الإمارتية التأثير على الرأي العام بنشر المغالطات. علاوة على ذلك تواصلت أثناء التحقيقات مظاهر الإكراه والمتمثلة في الحبس الانفرادي والإضاءة الليلة ومصادرة الأغراض الشخصية.
وطالت هذه الممارسات الحرمة الجسدية للمرزوقي، حيث تم ضربه بخرطوم مياه طويل على جسده، ووخزه بالمسامير، وتوقيفه لفترات طويلة من الساعة 8 صباحاً إلى 12 بعد منتصف الليل تحت جهاز التكييف البارد، رغم العلم بمعاناة الضحية من آلام في الظهر.
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصًا، من بينهم المرزوقي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

عرفت محاكمة ابراهيم المرزوقي انتهاكات قانونية بالجملة، تمثلت في غياب الأدلة المادية للتهم الموجهة ضده وحرمان المعتقل من حقه في التمثيل القانوني، وهو ما عبرت عنه المنظمات الحقوقية في تقارير  بالمخيبة للآمال، كدليل على التراجع المأساوي للحقوق والحريات العامة في الإمارات وذلك بتعمدها استخدام المحاكمات السياسية ضد المعتقلين والتقاضي أمام المحكمة الاتحادية غير القابلة للاستئناف، كما تم رفض التحقيق في الاعتداءات الجسدية والمعنوية التي طالت المرزوقي ومجموعة أخرى من المعتقلين وانتزاع الاعترافات تحت التعذيب.
استمرت الانتهاكات في حق المرزوقي داخل سجن الرزين، حيث يقضي أغلب فترة حبسه في السجن الانفرادي دون وجود تهوية مع غياب الرعاية الصحية وتردي الوضع الغذائي، بالإضافة إلى مواصلة منعه من الزيارة المنتظمة والاتصال بأهله لفترات متباعدة.