Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Najeeb Al-Amiri

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court for being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 30, 2012

    UAE authorities arrested him without an arrest warrant

Najeeb Al-Amiri, a legal scholar, holds a BA in history from the United Arab Emirates University, and he is a Friday preacher, journalist, poet, lawyer, jurist, and educator. Plus, he memorized the Holy Quran by heart. 
He held several positions in education:
- History teacher in Sharjah from 1985 to 1994.
- Senior history teacher in Sharjah from 1994 to 2000.
- History course instructor from 2000 to 2002.

Al-Amiri was involved in many social and charitable societies and committees. He was a member of the Teachers Association, a former board member of the Teachers ’Association, and a member of the Association of Sharia Scholars of the Gulf Cooperation Council countries. In addition, he was a collaborator with the Charitable Works Authority, a former Friday sermon preacher in a number of Sharjah mosques, a volunteer at summer centres for memorizing the Holy Qur’an in the past, and a volunteer marriage officiant in Family Court.

His apprehension and trial
On July 30, 2012, UAE security forces arrested Al-Amiri from his residency in Sharjah. However, on December, 2012, the UAE authorities denied that they arrested him and kept his place unknown until he appeared before court.
During detention, he was subjected to various forms of torture and inhumane treatment. He was placed in solitary confinement with constant light for 24 hours. He was not allowed to use eyeglasses nor was he allowed to practice religious rituals. He was forced to break his fasting in the holy month of Ramadan. It was documented that he was subjected to physical as well as psychological torture, including slapping and pouring cold water, which caused him cramps that needed medical assistance. 
Violations against Al-Amiri and his family continued. His wife was prevented from visiting him for months, and his whereabouts were not known until appearing before the court in the extension session for pre-trial detention. Despite his legal attorney presenting a set of demands in the investigation into the violations the detainees is facing, the authorities kept detaining him without a clear charge. All appeals were ignored, and he was brought before the court. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced a number of national figures, including Al-Amiri, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation for being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before the court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
During his detention in Al-Razeen, Al-Amiri was subjected to various forms of violations. His family was prevented from visiting him for a long time without legal reasons. He was not allowed to practice religious rituals, or to get proper treatment, as he suffered from underactive thyroid that needs a specific amount of vitamins daily. 
His trial lacked the standards of a fair trial, as they extracted confessions from him under threats. He was not allowed to use legal representation nor were his statements recognized. The violations he was subjected to were not investigated into, which violates human rights international standards.

Violations against the detainee

  • Depriving the victim of legal representation, as lawyers had been threatened not to represent cases, which violates UN Principles and Guidelines on Access to Legal Aid in Criminal Justice Systems

  • Not recognizing victim’s statements of being subjected to torture, which violates the United Nations Convention against Torture (UNCAT), which UAE signed in 2012

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

نجيب الأميري

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 30 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

نجيب الأميري، عالم شرعي، حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في تخصص التاريخ من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهو خطيب جمعة وحافظ للقرآن وإمام وإعلامي وشاعر ومحامي وحقوقي ومربي.

عمل نجيب في مناصب مختلفة في مجال التدريس منها: 
- مدرس لمادة التاريخ بالشارقة (من سنة 1985 حتى 1994) 
- مدرس أول لمادة التاريخ بالشارقة (من سنة 1994 حتى سنة 2000)
- موجه لمادة التاريخ (من سنة 2000 حتى سنة 2002)

شارك الأميري في العديد من الجمعيات واللجان الاجتماعية والخيرية، فكان عضو جمعية المعلمين، وعضو مجلس الإدارة السابق لجمعية المعلمين، وعضو رابطة علماء الشريعة لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإنه كان متعاون مع هيئة الأعمال الخيرية، وخطيب جمعة سابق، وواعظ في عدد من مساجد الشارقة ومتطوع في مراكز صيفية لتحفيظ القران الكريم سابقا، ومأذون شرعي متطوع في محكمة الشارقة الشرعية.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي المربي نجيب الأميري في 30 يوليو 2012 من مكان إقامته الكائن بإمارة الشارقة، رغم ذلك فإن السلطات الإماراتية أنكرت احتجازه حتى منتصف ديسمبر 2012، كما أنها قامت بإخفاء مكان احتجازه عن أسرته حتى ظهوره بالمحكمة.
تعرض الأميري أثناء احتجازه، للتعذيب والمعاملة المهينة. فقد تم احتجازه في زنزانة انفرادية مع تسليط الإضاءة الشديدة عليه طيلة 24 ساعة، ومنعه من استخدام نظارة طبية مناسبة، وحرمانه من تأدية شعائره الدينية ومحاولة إجباره على الفِطر وقت الصيام ، وقد تم توثيق تعرّض الأميري  إلى  التعذيب جسديا ونفسياً عبر الصفع على رقبته، وسكب المياه الباردة على ظهره مما أدى لإصابته بتشنجات استدعت التدخل الطبي لإنقاذه.
تواصلت الانتهاكات بحق الأميري وأسرته، حيث منعت زوجته من زيارته لأشهر، ولم تعلم مكانه حتى تاريخ ظهوره بالمحكمة للتمديد في الحبس الاحتياطي، ورغم تقديم وكيله القانوني مجموعة مطالب في التحقيق فيما يتعرض له المعتقل من تجاوزات قانونية، واصلت السلطات احتجازه دون تهمة واضحة وتم تجاهل كل الطلبات وتقديم الأميري إلى المحاكمة.
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على مجموعة من الشخصيات الوطنية، من بينهم الأميري، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع، وكان قد مثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تم توثيق العديد من الانتهاكات بحق الأميري المحتجز حالياً في سجن الرزين، فقد منعت عنه الزيارة لفترات طويلة دون مسوغ قانوني، وتواصل منعه من أداء الشعائر الدينية الجماعية كصلاة الجمعة، وحرمانه من الرعاية الصحية اللازمة مع العلم أن الأميري يُعاني من كسل عمل الغدة الدرقية ويحتاج للمتابعة الطبية وتناول مقادير محددة من الفيتامينات بشكل يومي. 
افتقرت محاكمة الأميري لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة فقد انتزعت منه الاعترافات تحت التهديد ومنع عن التمثيل القانوني والاعتداد بأقواله، ولم يتم التحقيق فيما تعرض له من الإخفاء القسري والاعتقال التعسفي، وهو ما يعارض كل المعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان.