Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Saleh Al-Dhafiri

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • January 21, 2014

    He was brought before court for the second time and sentenced to 4 years imprisonment and 3 years for the “Egyptian cell” case

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court for being affiliated with a secret organization

  • April 29, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March, 2012

    He was bailed out but his trial continued

  • March, 2012

    He was arrested for the first time for sedition

  • March 3, 2011

    Signing the third of March petition

Saleh Muhammad Saleh Al-Dhafiri, born in 1960, holds a BA in Sharia in 1999 from Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University, and he is one of the founders of the Reform Call and a member of the Board of Trustees and Director General of the Ras Al Khaimah Foundation for the Noble Qur’an. He worked as a high school teacher for 3 years and a headmaster in High school for 13 years.

His apprehension and trial
In 2012, the UAE security forces, wearing plainclothes, abducted Al-Dhafiri without an arrest warrant. He was referred to the Public Prosecution office after 48 hours on charges of promoting, by speaking and writing, ideas that would stir up discord and harm national unity and social peace. It is worth mentioning that he mentioned such ideas in a TV program about some unfair practices of the UAE authorities, in addition to his demand for reform.
In March 2012, Al-Dhafiri was bailed out while his trial continued. However, on April 29, 2012, he was arrested and subjected to enforced disappearance. In March, 2013, he appeared before courtuntil the start of the trial sessions in March 2013.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Dhafiri to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges related to being affiliated to a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
It has been reported that in November 2015, Al-Dhairi was subjected to various forms of torture in Al-Razeen prison. They put loudspeakers with a very loud music, causing him unconsciousness. Despite the alarm and cameras in every cell, there was no reaction from the guard. In the end, doctors discovered that he suffered high blood pressure and severe ear infections due to the loudspeakers. After that, he was placed in solitary confinement and prevented from seeing anybody.
His trial lacked all standards of fair trial, as there was not any material evidence against him. The authorities extracted confessions from prisoners of conscience, including Al-Dhafiri, under torture. He was placed in solitary confinement and prevented from legal representation. Also, his statements that he was subjected to enforced disappearance were ignored.
On January 21, 2014, he appeared before court in his second trial, named "Egyptian cell" case. The State Security Court in the Federal Supreme Court sentenced him to 4 years imprisonment, on charges of broadcasting misappropriated data among individuals from the Egyptian cell, and providing members of the Emirati secret organization with a copy, without Permission from the competent authorities. The second charge, which is a 3-month sentence, is his knowledge of the existence of the Egyptian Brotherhood cell in the country, without reporting it to the authorities.
A wholesale of violations against Al-Dhafiri in Al-Razeen prison have been documented. He was also placed in solitary confinement for weeks without seeing the sunlight or practicing any activities or religious rituals.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • His personal properties were all confiscated, and everything relating him to the outside world has been banned

  • He was not allowed to see or call anybody for a long time with no reasons

  • His physical and psychological condition was put at risk when he was not allowed to receive proper treatment and clothes

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

صالح الظفيري

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 21 يناير 2014:

    محاكمته للمرة الثانية والحكم عليه بالسجن 4 سنوات و3 أشهر فيما يعرف بقضية (الخلية المصرية).

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة للمرة الأولى بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 29 أبريل 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية للمرة الثانية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • مارس 2012:

    الإفراج عن الظيفري بكفالة مع استمرار محاكمته.

  • مارس 2012:

    اعتقال الظيفري للمرة الأولى بتهمة إثارة الفتنة.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

صالح محمد صالح الظفيري مواليد سنة 1960، حاصل على بكالوريوس شريعة عام 1999 من جامعة الإمام محمد بن سعود الاسلامية، وهو أحد مؤسسي دعوة الإصلاح وعضو مجلس الأمناء ومدير عام مؤسسة رأس الخيمة للقرآن الكريم وعلومه، كما أنه عمل مدرساً للمرحلة الثانوية لمدة 3 سنوات ومدير مدرسة ثانوية لمدة 13 سنة.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في عام 2012، اختطف صالح الظفيري من قبل قوات أمن بزي مدني دون مذكرة توقيف وتم إحالته على النيابة بعد 48 ساعة بتهمة الترويج بالقول والكتابة لأفكار من شأنها إثارة الفتنة والإضرار بالوحدة الوطنية والسلم الاجتماعي على خلفية تطرقه في أحد البرامج التليفزيونية لبعض الممارسات الجائرة للسلطات الأمنية الإمارتية ومطالبته بالإصلاح. 
في مارس 2012، تم الإفراج عنه بكفالة مع استمرار محاكمته، لكن تم القبض عليه وإخفاءه قسرياً مرة ثانية في 29 أبريل 2012، حتى بداية جلسات المحاكمة في مارس 2013. 
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على الأستاذ صالح الظفيري، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع وكان قد مَثُلَ أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).
ذكرت تقارير أن الظيفري تعرّض في نوفمبر عام 2015 للتعذيب في سجن الرزين بمكبرات صوت وتم وضع موسيقى عالية جداً، أدت إلى غيابه الوعي. وعلى الرغم من إطلاق جرس الإنذار ووجود الكاميرات في كل زنزانة لم يكن هناك اي رد فعل من الحارس. وفي النهاية اكتشف الأطباء أن لديه ارتفاعاً في ضغط الدم والتهاباً حاداً في الأذن سببه ضوضاء المكبرات الصوتية. وبعد ذلك تم نقله إلى الحبس الانفرادي ومنع الزيارة عنه.
 افتقرت محاكمة الظفيري لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة، فقد لجأت السلطات إلى انتزاع منه ومن غيره من معتقلي الرأي الاعترافات تحت التهديد والتعذيب بالإضافة إلى وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي ومنعه من التمثيل القانوني، وعدم الاعتداد بأقواله فيما تعلّق بما تعرّض له من إخفاء قسري وعدم توفر الأدلة المادية ضده.
في 21 يناير 2014، تمت المحاكمة الثانية للظفيري فيما يعرف بقضية (الخلية المصرية) حيث حكمت عليه محكمة أمن الدولة في المحكمة الاتحادية العليا بـ 4 سنوات، بتهمة إذاعة البيانات المختلسة بين الأفراد من الخلية المصرية، وتزويد أعضاء التنظيم السري الإماراتي بنسخة منها، دون إذن من السلطات المختصة، وتهمة ثانية أخذ فيها حكماً بـ3 أشهر، وهي العلم بوجود الخلية الإخوانية المصرية في الدولة، التابعة لتنظيم الإخوان المسلمين، دون الإبلاغ عنها للسلطات.

تم توثيق  جملة من الانتهاكات الحقوقية والإنسانية ضد سجن الرزين في حق الظفيري، كسجنه في حبس انفرادي لمدة تتجاوز في بعض الأحيان الأسابيع مع عدم تمكينه من الخروج للشمس أو ممارسة أي نشاطات خارجية كالرياضية أو ممارسة الشعائر الدينية الجماعية كصلاة الجمعة، كما تم حجب كل ما هو له صلة بالعالم الخارجي من صحف وأخبار.