Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Hussein Al-Jabri

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges related to being affiliated with a secret organization

  • April 9, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • December 4, 2011

    The UAE authorities issued a judicial verdict to withdraw his nationality on charges related to his involvement in actions that threat the sovereignty of the country

Mr. Hussein Munif Abdullah Al-Jabri, born in 1959, holds a BA in Education and Science from the United Arab Emirates University, in 1982. Al-Jabri is an educational expert and the former head of the Training and Development Department in the Abu Dhabi Municipality Department. He held several key positions, including a social worker in the regional schools in Abu Dhabi, a member of the Board of Directors of the Teachers Association, and a general supervisor of literacy and adult education centers.
On December 4, 2011, Al-Jabri along with other 7 members of the Eslah Society lost their nationality based on a verdict issued. 

His apprehension and trial 
On April 9, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Jabri at the Passports Department, claiming that there were no legal papers for his residency in the United Arab Emirates. He was placed in Al-Sadr prison before being transferred to an unknown place in August 2012. There, he was not allowed to communicate with his family and his lawyer, nor were they allowed to know anything about him between August 2012 and March 2013.
His detention period was repeatedly extended without any official warrant, and he continued to be placed in solitary confinement, where he is not allowed to receive proper medical treatment nor was he allowed to have a chair to pray as he suffers from knee pain.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Jabir to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges related to being affiliated with a secret illegal organization known as the “UAE 94” group.
During detention period, Al-Jabri experienced various legal violations, including the absence of material evidence and the ignorance of his statements that he was subjected to torture and ill-treatment. That violates the United Nations Convention against Torture (UNCAT).
Al-Jabri still endure such violations in Al-Razeen prison, where the circumstances are adverse. He has no bed to sleep on, or a chair to pray at. Although he repeatedly asked for medical treatment, they never responded. All his personal properties were confiscated, and he was not allowed to have new cloths for months. In addition to that, he was searched in a humiliating way several times. He was not allowed to see the sunlight, nor was he allowed to read or practice sport. 
These violations were not only committed against Al-Jabir, but also against his family, as they were subjected to intimidation. His daughter was not allowed to go to college in 2014, while his son was expelled from his job in 2013, had his passport confiscated, and was banned from travel since his father’s arrest.
In 2018, Al-Jabir was not allowed to attend his mother’s funeral, or to see or call anybody for a long time without any reason.
The trial of Al-Jabir and others who called for reform remain a matter of concern and dissatisfaction for the international community, as the UAE violates all the international agreements and conventions that ensured freedom of opinion and expression

Violations against the detainee

  • He has no bed to sleep on, or a chair to pray at. Although he repeatedly asked for medical treatment, they never responded

  • Not allowing to attend his mother’s funeral

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

حسين الجابري

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 9 أبريل 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 4 ديسمبر 2011:

    أصدرت السلطات قراراً بسحب الجنسية من الجابري دون أمر قضائي بدعوى القيام بـ"أعمال تهدد الأمن الوطني لدولة الإمارات."

الأستاذ حسين منيف عبد الله الجابري من مواليد 1959، حاصل على بكالوريوس تربية وعلوم من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، عام 1982. الجابري خبير تربوي ورئيس قسم التدريب والتطوير بدائرة بلدية أبو ظبي سابقاً، تولى الجابري العديد المناصب من بينها أخصائي اجتماعي بمدارس منطقة أبو ظبي التعليمية، ومدير بمدارس منطقة أبو ظبي التعليمية، كما شارك بصفته عضو مجلس إدارة جمعية المعلمين، ومشرف عام على مراكز محو الأمية وتعليم الكبار.
في 4 ديسمبر 2011، صدر في حق الجابري مع مجموعة من (7) من المنتمين لجمعية الإصلاح أمرٌ يقضي بسحب الجنسية الإمارتية.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في 9 أبريل 2012، اُعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي حسين الجابري في إدارة الجوازات بدعوى عدم وجود أوراق قانونية لإقامته في الامارات العربية المتحدة. وتم ايداعه في سجن الصدر قبل أن يتم نقل إلى مكان غير معلوم في شهر أغسطس 2012 حيث لم يُسمح له بالتواصل مع أسرته ومحاميه، وتم رفض إعلامهم بمكان احتجازه طيلة الفترة الممتدة بين شهر أغسطس 2012 ومارس 2013.
إلى جانب تعرضه إلى الإخفاء القسري، تم تمديد فترة توقيفه بصفة متكررة دون أي مذكرة رسمية وتواصل حبسه في الانفرادي، وعدم تمكينه من حقه في استشارة طبيب إخصائي ورفض تمكينه من كرسي مناسب لأداء الصلاة بسبب أوجاع حادة في الركبة.
في 2 يوليو 2013، أصدرت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على الأستاذ حسين الجابري، حكما بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء الى تنظيم سري غير مشروع فيما يعرف بقضية (الإمارات94).
خلال فترة المحاكمة، تم توثيق عدة انتهاكات قانونية في حق المعتقل حسين الجابري وكان أولها غياب الأدلة المادية ضده، ورفض الاعتداد بأقوال المعتقل فيما يتعلق بتعرضه للتعذيب والمعاملة السيئة والتي تتخالف مع الاتفاقيات المناهضة للتعذيب.
تتواصل هذه الانتهاكات في سجن الرزين حيث يقبع الجابري في ظروف حبس رديئة تمثلت في عدم توفر سرير وكرسي للصلاة وعدم السماح بالعلاج رغم الطلبات المتكررة، كما تم مصادرة أدواته الشخصية ومنعه من الحصول على ملابس جديدة لعدة أشهر، مع الاستمرار في التفتيش الليلي المهين، والحرمان من الخروج إلى الشمس وممارسة أي أنشطة كالرياضة والقراءة. وفي 2018 منع الزيارات والمكالمات الهاتفية عنه لمددٍ طويلة دون أسباب. 
لم تقتصر هذه الانتهاكات على شخص حسين الجابري بل امتدت لتلحق بأسرته، حيث عمدت السلطات لترهيب أفراد أسرته، فمنعت ابنته من التسجيل في الجامعة في عام 2014، وتم طرد ابنه من وظيفته في عام 2013 وصادرت جوازه وهوايته ومنعه من السفر منذ اعتقال والده.

تبقى محاكمة الجابري إلى جانب من شاركوه الدعوى للإصلاح، محل قلق وعدم رضا من المجتمع الدولي الحقوقي لخرق دولة الإمارات لكل الاتفاقيات الدولية من أجل الحرية في التعبير عن الرأي المخالف.