Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Khalifa Al-Nuaimi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges related to his affiliation with a secret organization

  • July 16, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Khalifa Hilal Khalifa Hilal Saeed Al-Nuaimi, born in 1987, is a human rights activist. He worked as a broadcaster for Al Dhafra TV channel. He prepared many programs and community events, which were streamed on Sharjah TV. Also, he represented the country in many international scout forums and camps through the Emirates Scout Association. 
Due to his human rights activities and his defense for the five detainees in 2011, Al-Nuaimi was subjected to harassment and intimidation.

His apprehension and trial 
On July 16, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested the activist Khalifa Al-Nuaimi once he was at his family's home. Then, he was subjected to enforced disappearance and kept in an unknown place until he appeared in court in March.
Al-Nuaimi was placed in solitary confinement in a cell without a bed, a carpet or a Qur’an. This was the only thing his family knew about him after they were prevented from knowing the place of his detention. He was not allowed to have legal representation, and he was interrogated several times late at night blindfolded, which caused him psychological damage. He was also prevented from having books and newspapers.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced the activist Al-Nuaimi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges related to being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial witnessed a significant number of legal violations, including the absence of material evidence of the charges against him, considering his social activities as a terrorist crime, and not investigating into the fact that he was subjected to enforced disappearance. Also, they ignored his statements that he was subjected to torture and solitary confinement. They did not investigate the illegal procedures to interrogate him more than 6 times. Blindfolded, he was forced to sign confessions under threat and was deprived of his right to legal representation in the trial.
As violations continued in Al-Razeen prison, in March 2014, Khalifa was placed in solitary confinement with no bed or chair. Also, they prevented him from having any food with no legal reasons. 
Later, Al-Nuaimi and his companion in detention, Ali Abdullah Al-Khaja, were severely beaten, forming bruises on their bodies. The circumstances of their exposure to physical violence were kept hidden. 
These violations did not stop, but escalated. It is worth mentioning that he had been prevented from seeing his father for more than a year and a half. His father died, and he was not allowed to attend his funeral nor was he allowed to practice funeral prayers.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

خليفة النعيمي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم على النعيمي بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 16 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

خليفة هلال خليفة هلال سعيد النعيمي مواليد عام 1987، ناشط حقوقي، عمل مذيعاً في قناة الظفرة، قام بإعداد العديد من البرامج والفعاليات المجتمعية، تمت تغطيتها في تلفزيون الشارقة، مثَّلَ الدولة في عدة ملتقيات ومخيمات كشفية دولية من خلال جمعية الإمارات الكشفية
وبسبب نشاطه الحقوقي ودفاعه عن المعتقلين الخمسة في 2011، تعرض الناشط الحقوقي خليفة النعيمي للتضييق والترهيب.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
 في 16 يوليو 2012، تم اعتقال الناشط خليفة النعيمي بشكل تعسفي من قبل جهاز الأمن الإماراتي في منزل أسرته، وبقي مختفياً قسرياً في مكان مجهول حتى ظهوره في المحاكمات بشهر مارس.
تعرض النعيمي للحبس الانفرادي في زنزانة دون سرير أو سجادة أو مصحف، وهي المعلومة الوحيدة التي وصلت لأهله بعد منعهم من معرفة مكان احتجازه، وعدم السماح له بالتمثيل القانوني، كما تم التحقيق معه بصفة مستمرة في وقت متأخر وهو معصوب العينين، وتوجيه السباب له بشكل سبب له ضرر نفسي بالإضافة إلى منعه من إدخال الكتب والجرائد. 
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على الناشط خليفة النعيمي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع في القضية المعروفة بقضية مجموعة (الإمارات 94).
تم توثيق العديد من الانتهاكات القانونية أثناء محاكمة النعيمي، وكانت في مجملها متعلقة بغياب الأدلة المادية على التهم الموجهة إليه واعتبار نشاطه الاجتماعي جريمة إرهابية، بالإضافة إلى عدم التحقيق فيما تعرض له الضحية من إخفاء قسري وعدم الاعتداد بأقواله التي تحدث فيها عن تعرضه للتعذيب والحبس الانفرادي وعدم النظر في الإجراءات غير القانونية للتحقيق معه أكثر من 6 مرات معصوب العينين وإجباره على التوقيع على اعترافات تحت التهديد، علاوة على حرمانه من التمثيل القانوني طوال فترة المحاكمة.
 تواصلت الانتهاكات في سجن الرزين، حيث تعرّض خليفة في مارس 2014 للحبس الانفرادي في زنزانة ضيقة دون سرير أو كرسي وتم منع الطعام عنه، دون ذكر الأسباب. 
وفي مرحلة أخرى تعرض النعيمي ورفيقه المعتقل علي عبد الله الخاجة للضرب المبرح وظهرت آثار كدمات على أجسادهم دون أن يكون هناك أي تفاصيل عن ملابسات تعرضهما للعنف الجسدي.
تصاعدت هذه الانتهاكات في أبشع صورها، لتصل الى منع خليفة النعيمي من المشاركة في جنازة والده والصلاة عليه بعد أن كان محروماً من رؤيته لأكثر من سنة ونصف.