Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ahmed Al-Zaabi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court for being affiliated with a secret organization

  • 2012

    He was sentenced to 6 months imprisonment with a fine of 500 dirhams and passport confiscation on charges of impersonating a judge

  • August 2012

    He was kept in prison despite the fact he was to be released on bail

  • March 26, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him on charges related to falsifying his passport

  • March 3, 2011

    Signing the Third of March petition

Ahmed Yousef Abdullah Bouabtaba Al-Zaabi, born in 1965, is a former judge and director of the Judicial Inspection in Abu Dhabi. He holds a PhD and MA in Islamic Sharia from Dar Al-Hadith Al-Hasaniya for Higher Islamic Studies in Rabat, Morocco, and a BA in Sharia and Law from the College of Sharia and Law in United Arab Emirates University.
Also, he is a university professor at the College of Sharia at the University of Sharjah and the College of Law at Ajman University of Science and Technology. He is a writer, researcher and participant in conferences and seminars in the Sharia and legal field and charitable work.

His apprehension and trial
On March 26, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Dr. Ahmed Yousef Al-Zaabi on charges of falsifying the passport, claiming that he did not change the profession section to a former judge. Given that, he was detained for 4 months in an unknown place despite that he was to be released on bail. Also, he was prevented from attending court hearings except the hearing, at which he was sentenced to 6 months imprisonment and a fine of 500 dirhams for impersonating a judge. His passport was confiscated.
During his detention in solitary confinement, Dr. Al-Zaabi’s location remained anonymous for his family and lawyer. In there, there was no bed or blanket with constant night lighting. He was prevented from using his medical glasses. It was reported that he was subjected to various forms of torture, including pulling his nails and severe beatings.  That caused him a number of injuries, including swollen feet and bruises in different parts of his body; sometimes he would urinate blood. Despite all of that, he was prevented from proper medical treatment. His treatment took months, and his request to be checked by the forensic medicine was rejected as he experienced infringement of physical inviolability.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Dr. Al-Zaabi, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges related to being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
A number of international human rights organizations expressed their dissatisfaction about the legal violations committed in Al-Zaabi’s trial. He was denied his right to legal representation, and there was not any physical evidence of the charges brought against him. Also, his statements that he was subjected to torture in detention and during interrogation were ignored. 
Al-Zaabi is still exposed to violations in Al-Razeen Prison under inhuman conditions. He is denied his right to health care and food, to visit and call his family for long periods. He is not allowed to exercise and read books and newspapers, or Holy Quran, to be completely isolated from the outside world.
Violating Al-Zaabi’s right to a fair trial in accordance with international human rights standards and international conventions against torture, the UAE infringed all their international obligations
 

Violations against the detainee

  • He is denied his right to health care and food

  • Violating many legal guarantees for a fair trial, such as the right of the accused to appear before a normal court, or to defend before the judiciary

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

أحمد الزعابي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم بالسجن على الزعابي 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 2012:

    حكم عليه بالسجن 6 أشهر مع مصادرة جواز سفره وتغريمه 500 درهم بتهمة انتحال صفة قاض.

  • أغسطس 2012:

    استمرار اعتقاله رغم صدور حكم بالإفراج عنه.

  • 26 مارس 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بتهمة تزوير جواز السفر.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

أحمد يوسف عبد الله بوعتابة الزعابي مواليد عام 1965، قاضي سابق ومدير التفتيش القضائي في أبو ظبي، حاصل على دكتوراه وماجستير في الشريعة الإسلامية من دار الحديث الحسنية للدراسات الإسلامية العليا في الرباط، المغرب. وبكالوريوس في الشريعة والقانون (تخصص مزدوج) من كلية الشريعة والقانون في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
فضلاً عن كونه أستاذاً جامعياً أكاديمياً بكلية الشريعة بجامعة الشارقة وكلية القانون بجامعة عجمان للعلوم والتكنولوجيا، وكاتباً وباحثاً ومؤلفاً ومشاركاً في مؤتمرات وندوات في المجال الشرعي والقانوني والعمل الخيري.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الدكتور أحمد يوسف الزعابي في 26 مارس 2012 بتهمة تزوير جواز السفر بدعوى أنه لم يُغيّر المهنة إلى "قاض سابق"، وتم احتجازه لمدة 4 أشهر في مكان غير معلوم رغم صدور حكم بالإفراج عنه بكفالة. علاوة على ذلك تم منعه من حضور جلسات المحاكمة إلا في جلسة النطق بالحكم حيث حكم عليه بالسجن 6 أشهر مع مصادرة جواز سفره وتغريمه 500 درهم بتهمة انتحال صفة قاض.
بقي الدكتور الزعابي في مكان غير معلوم لأسرته أو محاميه  طيلة فترة الاحتجاز والتي قضاها في الحبس الانفرادي دون سرير أو غطاء مع استمرار الإضاءة الليلية الشديدة ومنعه من استخدام نظارته الطبية، وقد وردت معلومات على أن الزعابي تعرض لأبشع أنواع التعذيب وذلك عبر سحب أظافره، والضرب الشديد  الذي تسبب له بمجموعة من الاصابات، بما في ذلك تورم القدمين وكدمات في انحاء متفرقة من جسمه، وكان يتبول دماً في بعض الاحيان، ومع ذلك منع من الاستشارة الطبية لسوء حالته الصحية، مما استدعى علاجه لمدة شهر، كما تم رفض طلب عرضه على الطب الشرعي لما تعرض له من اعتداءات واضحة على حرمته الجسدية.
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الدكتور أحمد الزعابي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع في القضية المعروفة بـ(الإمارات 94).
أبدت عددٌ من المنظمات الدولية لحقوق الإنسان عدم رضاها عن الانتهاكات القانونية أثناء المحاكمة والتي التي طالت حق الدكتور الزعابي في التمثيل القانوني له وغياب أي دليل مادي لما وجه له من تهم، فضلاً عن عدم الاعتداد بأقواله والتحقيق فيما تعرض له من اعتداء وتعذيب أثناء فترة احتجازه وخلال التحقيقات.
هذه الانتهاكات تواصلت داخل سجن الرزين حيث يقضي الدكتور أحمد يوسف الزعابي مدة حبسه في ظروف غير إنسانية، تتمثل عدم تمكينه من حق الزيارة والتواصل الهاتفي مع أُسرته لفترات طويلة، كما يتم منعه من التريض والاطلاع على الكتب والصحف ليصبح بذلك في معزل كامل عن العالم.
خرقت السلطات الإماراتية كل التزاماتها الدولية، بانتهاكها لحق الدكتور الزعابي في محاكمة عادلة وفق المعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان والاتفاقيات الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب.