Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Rashid Al-Shamsi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 16, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Rashid Omran Ali Obaid Al-Shamsi, born in 1977, is a journalist, founder, and president of the Smart Media & Management Foundation for management and media consultancy. He is the editor-in-chief of the electronic magazine "Sennaria" specialized in communication, relations and marketing, and he is considered one of the most important researchers and bloggers in the UAE. In addition, he used to write a column in Al Khaleej newspaper.
Due to his social activity in writing critical posts and articles to support freedom and reform in the UAE and to fight all intimidation means, Al-Shamsi become a source of dissatisfaction for the UAE authorities, who spared no effort to place various restrictions against him and confiscated his passport with no legal reasons.


His apprehension and trial
Against the backdrop of the campaign Twitter activists, including Al-Shamsi, launched entitled “Their Ramadan is with Us” calling for the release of detainees before Ramadan, the UAE security forces stormed Al-Shamsi workplace on July 16, 2012 without an official arrest warrant and took him to an unknown place until he appeared before court. 
Appearing before court, he looked miserable and in a bad health condition. He complained of solitary confinement, cold air conditioning, and being forced to take pills of unknown origin, which confirms his appearance in an unstable psychological state, as well as preventing him from legal representation and family visits. 
These violations affected his family as well, as the authorities kept interrogating his wife, delayed renewing the ID cards of his family, and placed a travel ban against them. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Shamsi, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
The human rights organizations stated that the trial of Al-Shamsi and the "UAE 94" group as unfair trail that lacked all the standards of fair trials. It witnessed a violation of the UAE and international human rights law during which a final ruling was issued without the presence of any material evidence against the detainee, considering his social activity a terrorist crime. The judge ignored his statements that he was subjected to torture and ill-treatment. They failed to investigate into the enforced disappearance and arbitrary detention he was exposed to. All of that makes the trial a farce that does not comply with any legal obligations under international conventions against torture.


Human rights reports keep monitoring violations against the detainees’ rights. Rashid, as one of them, is placed in solitary confinement in Al-Razeen prison, in a narrow room without a bed.  deprived contact with the family except for short periods and under constant surveillance, which negatively have a negative impact on the psychology of the detainee.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

  • Ignoring his deteriorating health condition as they do not provide proper health and food

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

راشد الشامسي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم على الشامسي بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 16 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بدون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

راشد عمران علي عبيد الشامسي مواليد عام 1977، إعلامي وصحفي ومؤسس ورئيس مؤسسة (Smart media & management) للاستشارات الإدارية والإعلامية، ورئيس تحرير مجلة "سينارية" الإلكترونية المتخصصة بالاتصال والعلاقات والتسويق، ويعتبر من أهم الباحثين والمدوّنين في الإمارات، وكان له عمود أسبوعي يكتبه في صحيفة الخليج الإماراتية.
بسبب نشاطه الاجتماعي وتدويناته الناقدة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي التي سخّرها للتعبير عن مساندته لحرية الرأي والمنهج الإصلاحي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومناهضته لكل وسائل التضييق والترهيب، أصبح الشامسي مصدر إزعاج للسلطات الإمارتية التي لم تدخر جهداً للتضييق عليه وذلك بمنعه من السفر ومصادرة جواز سفره دون مسوغ قانوني. 

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
على خلفية الحملة التي أطلقها نشطاء (تويتر) من بينهم الشامسي بعنوان (رمضانهم معنا) تطالب بالإفراج عن المعتقلين قبل شهر رمضان، قامت قوات من جهاز الأمن الإماراتي في 16 يوليو 2012 بمداهمة مقر عمله دون مذكرة رسمية واعتقال الشامسي واقتياده إلى مكان غير معلوم إلى حين ظهوره في المحكمة. 
وكان قد ظهر الشامسي في جلسات المحاكمة في حالة سيئة جداً، واشتكى من الحبس الانفرادي وبرودة التكييف وإجباره على تعاطي حبوب مجهولة المصدر، وهو ما يؤكد ظهوره في حالة نفسية غير مستقرة، فضلاً عن منعه من التمثيل القانوني وزيارة الأهل.
طالت هذه الانتهاكات أسرة المعتقل، فقد عمدت السلطات الأمنية لاستدعاء زوجة الشامسي للتحقيق بصورة مستمرة، كما قامت بالمماطلة في تجديد بطاقات الهوية للزوجة و الأبناء و المنع من السفر لفترات متقطعة.
في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم راشد عمران الشامسي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع في القضية المشهورة باسم (الإمارات 94).
اعتبرت المنظمات الحقوقية محاكمة الشامسي ومجموعة (الإمارات94) غير عادلة وتفتقر لكل مقومات المحاكمات العادلة بما جرى خلالها من خرق للقانون الإماراتي والدولي لحقوق الإنسان  من إصدار حكم نهائي دون وجود أي أدلة مادية ضد المعتقل، فضلاً عن تعمد القاضي عدم الاعتداد بأقوال الشامسي عن تعرضه للتعذيب والمعاملة المهينة، مع عدم إصدار أمر بالتحقيق في ما تعرض له من اعتقال تعسفي وإخفاء قسري، وهو ما يجعل من المحاكمة مجرد مسرحية هزلية لا تمتثل لأي التزامات قانونية بموجب الاتفاقيات الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب و تكريس حقوق الإنسان.
مازالت تقارير حقوق الإنسان ترصد الانتهاكات في حق المعتقلين، ومن بينهم راشد عمران الشامسي في مكان حبسه بسجن الرزين حيث تواصل السلطات الإمارتية ممارساتها الانتقامية بالحبس الانفرادي في غرفة ضيقة دون سرير، والحرمان من الزيارة والاتصال بالأسرة إلا لأوقات قصيرة وتحت المراقبة المستمرة وهو ما يؤثر سلباً على نفسية الشامسي وغيره من المعتقلين المتواجدين بنفس السجن ويتلقون نفس المعاملة غير الإنسانية.