Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Shaheen Al-Hosni

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • March 26, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him for violating residency laws

  • December 4, 2011

    He lost his UAE nationality based on a judicial verdict

  • March 3, 2011

    Signing the Third of March petition

Shaheen Abdullah Mal Allah Al-Hosni, born in 1971, is an information consultant and librarian. He is the one who came up with the idea of the first electronic library in the UAE.  He holds a PhD in information studies from the University of Florida in the U.S, a master's degree in library and information science from the University of Wisconsin in the U.S, and a BA in Education, Arabic Language from the United Arab Emirates University.
Dr. Al-Hosni held several key positions, including a lecturer in the Department of Information Systems at the College of Business and Economics at the United Arab Emirates University, head of Supply and Group Development Department at the Deanship of Libraries at the United Arab Emirates University, and a teacher at the Ministry of Education.
Due to his social activity and affiliation with Eslah Society, Dr. Shaheen Al-Hosni was subjected to harassment and intimidation from the UAE government, as he lost his nationality without a court order along with 6 others from the Eslah Society. 

His apprehension and trial
On March 26, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Dr. Al-Hosni at the Passports Department after he was summoned and given the choice between the Comoros nationality or arrest. It was claimed that he lacked the legal papers for his residency in the UAE. He preferred to be arrested to losing his UAE nationality. 
At first, he was placed in Al-Sadr prison, then he was transferred to secret prisons for 8 months, during which he was subjected to enforced disappearance until he appeared before court. He was prevented from contacting with the family and the lawyer. These practices continued during detention, as his request for medical treatment was ignored. He was intentionally placed in solitary confinement for a long time with constant intense night lighting, which negatively affected his physical and psychological health. Such violations affected his family as well. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Hosni, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation over being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.

His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial. It witnessed various forms of violations, as the detainee was denied his right to legal representation, the absence of any material evidence of charges against him, ignorance of his statements that he was subjected to enforced disappearance and arbitrary detention, and failure to investigate into the ill-treatment that he was exposed to. Instead, a final unappealable ruling was issued.  
Dr. Al-Hosni is serving his sentence in Al-Razeen prison, where he is subjected to flagrant violations. He is placed in solitary confinement, deprived his right to visits, calls, going out, practicing religious rituals, or getting books or the Holy Quran, to completely isolate him from the outside world. 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

شاهين الحوسني

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 26 مارس 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بسبب مخالفته لقوانين الإقامة.

  • 4 ديسمبر 2011:

    سحب الجنسية الإماراتية من الحوسني بدون أمر قضائي.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

شاهين عبد الله مال الله الحوسني مواليد سنة 1971، استشاري معلومات ومكتبات، صاحب فكرة أول مكتبة إلكترونية على مستوى دولة الإمارات، حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في دراسات المعلومات من جامعة فلوريدا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ودرجة الماجستير في علم المكتبات والمعلومات من جامعة ويسكانسن في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ومتحصل على درجة البكالوريوس في التربية (لغة عربية) من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. 
شغل الدكتور شاهين الحوسني العديد من المناصب الهامة، منها محاضر في قسم إدارة نظم المعلومات بكلية الإدارة والاقتصاد في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ورئيس قسم التزويد وتطوير المجموعات بعمادة المكتبات في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومدرس في وزارة التربية والتعليم.
بسبب نشاطه الاجتماعي وانتمائه لجمعية الإصلاح، تعرض الدكتور شاهين الحوسني للمضايقة والترهيب من الحكومة الإماراتية، حيث تم سحب جنسية الدولة عنه بدون أمر قضائي مع 6 آخرين من جمعية الإصلاح.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:

في 26 مارس 2012، اعتقلت قوات من جهاز الأمن الإماراتي الدكتور الحوسني داخل إدارة الجوازات بعد استدعائه وتخييره بين جنسية جزر القمر أو الاعتقال لعدم وجود أوراق قانونية لإقامته في الإمارات، فاختار الاعتقال على التنازل عن جنسية الدولة. 
تم اعتقاله بداية في سجن الصدر قبل أن ينقل إلى سجون سرية لمدة 8 أشهر تعرض فيها للإخفاء القسري إلى حين ظهوره  في جلسة الأولى من المحاكمة، كما تم  منعه من التواصل مع الاسرة والمحامي، وتواصلت هذه الممارسات أثناء الاحتجاز حيث تم رفض طلبه للخضوع للعلاج وتعمد حبسه انفراديا لفترة طويلة مع استمرار الإضاءة الليلية الشديدة، وهو ما أثر سلبا على صحته الجسدية والنفسية. كما طالت هذه الانتهاكات أسرة الحوسني.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً في قضية التنظيم السري غير المشروع، من بينهم الدكتور شاهين الحوسني، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

كانت محاكمة الحوسني مفتقرة لكل المعايير القانونية شكلاً ومضموناً، فقد غاب فيها التمثيل القانوني للمعتقل، كما غابت الأدلة المادية لما نسب إليه من تهم، وتم تجاهل أقوال الحوسني وطلباته فتح تحقيق في تعرض له من اعتقال تعسفي وإخفاء قسري ومعاملة مهينة خلال فترة الاحتجاز، فجاء الحكم نهائياً غير قابل للطعن.

يؤدي الدكتور شاهين الحوسني مدة حبسه في سجن الرزين، أين يتعرض إلى شتى أنواع من الانتهاكات اللاإنسانية، فقد يتم حبسه انفرادياً ومنعه من الزيارة والاتصال بالأهل لفترة طويلة دون ذكر الأسباب، إضافة إلى الحرمان من الخروج للتريض وأداء الشعائر الدينية الجماعية والحصول على الكتب أو الصحف، ليتم بذلك عزله عن العالم بصفة كاملة.