Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

AbdulRahman Al-Hadidi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 15, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

AbdulRahman Ahmed Muhammad Al-Hadidi Al Ali, born in 1959, holds a BA in History from the College of Arts, United Arab Emirates University. He worked as a Quran teacher in the Zayed Program for the Holy Quran for more than 6 years, an assistant to the Director of Al Ain Educational Zone, the head of the youth welfare and student activities department at the UAE University, and head of the teaching assistant department in the 1990s. 

His apprehension and trial 
On July 15, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Hadidi at Sharjah Airport while he was heading with his family to Saudi Arabic to perform Umrah. He was subjected to enforced disappearance until he appeared before court.

He was arrested over signing the Third of March petition, calling for reform and the right to vote and be represented in the UAE National Council. His son confirmed that his father was subjected to arbitrary arrest without legal arrest warrant. He was kept in an unknown place until he appeared before court.
During detention, his health deteriorated due to the ill-treatment, as he performed a cardiac catheterization operation 3 days after he was arrested without informing his family about the circumstances of this dangerous operation. It is worth noting that his health was good before his arrest. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Hadidi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
During his detention in Al-Razeen prison, Al-Hadidi was subjected to various forms of violations, including a prevention of seeing his lawyer, the failure to investigate into the reasons for his arrest and his sudden health deterioration. Also, he was not allowed to attend the funeral of his father, who died while he was in detentionand was prevented from bidding farewell to his body.
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial, as the authorities denied his right to defend himself and to legal representation. Also, they ignored his statements that he was placed in solitary confinement.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

عبد الرحمن الحديدي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 15 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بدوت تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

عبد الرحمن أحمد محمد الحديدي آل على مواليد 1959، حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في التاريخ من كلية الآداب جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. عمل معلماً للقرآن في برنامج زايد للقرآن الكريم مدةً تزيد على 6 سنوات، كما عمل مساعداً لمدير منطقة العين التعليمية، بالإضافة إلى عمله رئيسَ قسم رعاية الشباب والأنشطة الطلابية في جامعة الإمارات بجامعة الامارات العربية ورئيسَ قسم المعيدين في بداية التسعينات

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الحديدي في 15 يوليو 2012 في مطار الشارقة عندما كان متوجها رفقة أسرته إلى البقاع المقدسة لأداء مناسك العمرة وبقي الحديدي في الإخفاء القسري حتى ظهوره في المحكمة.

كان سبب الاعتقال هو مشاركة الحديدي وتوقيعه على (عريضة 3 مارس) والتي كانت تهدف للمطالبة بالإصلاح والحق في الانتخاب والتمثيل في المجلس الوطني الإماراتي. أكد ابن الحديدي أن والده تعرض للاعتقال التعسفي دون أي مذكرة اعتقال قانونية وبقي مكانه غير معلوم لأسرته إلى حين بدأ المحاكمة. 
 
إبان اعتقاله، تدهورت الحالة الصحية للحديدي بسبب المعاملة السيئة، حيث أجرى عملية قسطرة للقلب بعد 3 أيام من تاريخ القبض عليه دون إبلاغ ذويه أو الإفصاح عن أي معلومات تخص الظروف التي تمت فيها مثل هذه العملية بالغة الخطورة علماً بأنه لم يكن يعاني من أي مشاكل صحية قبل ذلك.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على الأستاذ عبد الرحمن محمد الحديدي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تم توثيق جملة من الانتهاك في حق الحديدي في سجن الرزين، فقد منع من الزيارة ومقابلة محاميه ولم يتم التحقيق في حيثيات اعتقاله وأسباب تردي وضعه الصحي المفاجئ في الاحتجاز، بالإضافة إلى أنه منع من المشاركة في جنازة والده الذي توفي في المعتقل وحرم من توديع جثمانه.

كانت محاكمة الحديدي كغيرها من محاكمات معتقلي الرأي، تفتقر لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة، كحرمانه من حقه في الدفاع عن نفسه وعدم الاعتداد بأقواله أثناء المحاكمة بالإضافة إلى وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي ومنعه من التمثيل القانوني.