Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ahmed Al-Suwaidi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • March 26, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • December 4, 2011

    He lost his nationality without a judicial decision

Ahmed Ghaith Ahmad Ghaith Al-Suwaidi, born in 1960, is an economist in the UAE, as he was the chief budget monitor at the Ministry of Finance. He holds a master's degree in economics from the University of Southern California, USA, and a BA in petroleum engineering from the University of Southern California.
Eng. Ahmed worked as a teaching assistant at the United Arab Emirates University and later as a director of the strategic planning office in the Department of Finance, Government of Abu Dhabi, in addition to his membership in preparing and managing the budget in the General Administration of the Finance Department.
Due to his activity in calling for reform and his affiliation with Eslah society, Al-Suwaidi became a target of harassment from the authorities. On December 4, 2011, a verdict to revoke nationality was issued without a court ruling against 7 citizens, including him. Also, his passport was confiscated and was banned from traveling.

His apprehension and trial 
On March 26, 2012, the UAE security forces arbitrarily arrested Al-Suwaidi without an arrest warrant. He was subjected to enforced disappearance for a year, during which he was denied his right to legal representation. 
During his detention, it was reported that Al-Suwaidi was subjected to inhumane treatement and various forms of torture. He was placed in solitary confinement without a bed and cover in an attempt to force him to sign forged confessions containing a number of serious charges against him.
In his first appearance before the court, Al-Suwaidi revealed that he had been threatened with death if he did not sign the charges against him. He also added he was subjected to various forms of torture including, hanging him on an iron bar and pouring cold water on him. Also, he stated that he was repeatedly treated in a degrading manner, which was clearly reflected on his health, who suffered severe weight loss and the inability to stand up straight.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Suwaidi, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial witnessed a number of legal violations including not considering his statements that he was subjected to arbitrary detention, torture and severe insult to his physical inviolability, and the denial of his right to legal representation. Also, the final ruling was issued in the absence of any material evidence against him. This makes it a mere mock trial that has this retaliatory trait against prisoners of conscience.
Al-Suwaidi was subjected to enforced disappearance again during the course of the trial before he was transferred to Al-Razeen prison. The authorities sometimes place him in solitary confinement without legal justification and subject him to physical and psychological violence by placing him in a narrow cell without ventilation and with constant lighting. He was not allowed to have visitors nor was he able to contact with his family. The ugliest thing the authorities have done is the fact that they prevented him from attending his father’s funeral.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Put in solitary confinement with no legal reason

  • Denial of visits for long periods

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

أحمد غيث

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 26 مارس 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بدون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 4 ديسمبر 2011:

    سحب الجنسية الإماراتية من السويدي دون أمر قضائي.

أحمد غيث أحمد غيث السويدي مواليد عام 1960، أحد خبراء الاقتصاد في دولة الإمارات حيث عمل كبيرَ مراقبي الميزانية بوزارة المالية. حاصل على درجة الماجستير في الاقتصاد من جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، ودرجة البكالوريوس في هندسة البترول من جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا.

عمل المهندس أحمد السويدي مُعيداً في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كما عمل لاحقاً كمدير مكتب التخطيط الاستراتيجي في دائرة المالية، حكومة أبو ظبي، فضلاً عن عضويته في إعداد وإدارة الميزانية في الإدارة العامة في الدائرة المالية لحكومة أبو ظبي.

بسبب نشاطه الإصلاحي وانتمائه لجمعية الإصلاح، أصبح السويدي هدفاً للمضايقة من السلطات، حيث تم في 4 ديسمبر 2011 إصدار أمر بسحب الجنسية بدون حكم قضائي عن 7 مواطنين من بينهم أحمد غيث السويدي كما تم مصادرة جواز سفره ومنعه من السفر. 

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
 في 26 مارس 2012، اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي المهندس أحمد السويدي بطريقة تعسفية ودون مذكرة اعتقال قانونية، وبقيَ السويدي في الإخفاء القسري لمدة عام كامل حيث منعت عنه الزيارة أو مقابلة المحامي خلالها إلى حين محاكمته 

إبان اعتقاله، نقلت مصادر أن الناشط أحمد غيث السويدي، تعرض للتعذيب والمعاملة المهينة حيث تم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي بدون سرير وغطاء في محاولة لإرغامه على التوقيع على اعترافات مزورة فيها جملة من التهم الخطيرة الموجهة إليه.

في أول ظهور له أمام المحكمة، كشف السويدي تعرضه إلى التهديد بالقتل إن لم يعترف بالتهم الموجهة إليه، كما أضاف أنه تعرّض للتعذيب وذلك بتعليقه على قضيب حديد وسكب الماء البارد عليه، فضلا على تكرار معاملته بطريقة مهينة طيلة فترة احتجازه، وهو ما ظهر جلياً على صحة السويدي الذي كان يعاني من فقدان شديد للوزن وعدم القدرة على الوقوف باستقامة.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الناشط أحمد غيث السويدي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تم توثيق جملة من الانتهاكات القانونية خلال محاكمة السويدي، من ذلك عدم الاعتداد بأقواله فيما تعرض له من اعتقال تعسفي وتعذيب وإهانة شديدة لحرمته الجسدية، كما لم يتم السماح له بالتمثيل القانوني وإصدار حكم بات في ظل غياب أي أدلة مادية ضده. وهو ما يجعل من هذه المحاكمة مجرد محاكمة صورية لا تنتفي عنها الصفة الانتقامية في حق معتقلي الرأي.

تعرّض السويدي للإخفاء القسري مرة أخرى أثناء مجريات المحاكمة قبل أن يتم نقله إلى سجن الرزين حيث تواصل السلطات ممارسة العنف الجسدي والنفسي عليه من خلال وضعه في زنزانة ضيقة دون تهوية مع الإضاءة المستمرة، لتصل بشاعة ممارسات السلطات الأمنية إلى أقصاها بمنع السويدي من المشاركة في جنازة والده وقبول العزاء فيه.