Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Hussein Al-Najar

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • April 30, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Hussein Ali Abdullah Al-Najar Al-Hammadi, born in 1962, is one of the most prominent educational personnel in the fields of administration and training in the United Arab Emirates. He holds a BA in science and education, specializing in physics and mathematics from the United Arab Emirates University, and a master's degree in environmental sciences from the same university. 

Al-Najar worked as a teacher of physics for high school and an instructor of the same subject. He was the vice chairman of the Board of Directors of the Experts Foundation for Educational and Management Consulting, and the General Director of the Board of Directors of the Manarat Foundation for Educational Consulting. Also, he is the owner of the first institution specialized in educational consultations.

His apprehension and trial 
On July 16, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested him while he was giving a session in Fujairah, UAE, without an arrest warrant. He was placed in an unknow place until he appreaed before court. 

On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Najar, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial witnessed many legal violations, as the judge did not consider Al-Najar’s statements that he was subjected to enforced disappearance and various forms of torture during detention. He was denied his right to legal representation and seeing the case file. Also, a final unapealable ruling was issued amid the absence of any material evidence of the charges brought against him.
Inhumane treatment and practices continued against Al-Najar and other prisoners of conscience in Al-Razeen prison. They are denied their basic rights, such as ventilation, seeing the sun, practicing religious rituals, visits and cotacts, without any reasons. 
In an attempt to exert pressure on him and his psyche, they arrested and tried his son because he defended his father.

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

حسين النجار

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 30 أبريل 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

حسين على عبد الله النجار الحمادي مواليد عام1962، أحد أبرز الكوادر التعليمية في مجالي الإدارة والتدريب في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حصل على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم والتربية تخصص فيزياء ورياضيات من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بالإضافة إلى درجة الماجستير في علوم البيئة من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. 

عمل الأستاذ حسين علي النجار مدرساً لمادة الفيزياء للمرحلة الثانوية، وموجه مادة الفيزياء، بالإضافة إلى عمله كنائب رئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الخبراء للاستشارات التربوية والإدارية، ومدير عام مجلس إدارة مؤسسة منارات للاستشارات التعليمية، وهو كذلك صاحب أول مؤسسة متخصصة في الاستشارات التعليمية.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الأستاذ حسين علي النجار في 16 يوليو 2012 أثناء عمله حيث كان يلقي دورة في بلدية الفجيرة، دون الاستظهار بمذكرة اعتقال، ثم تم اقتياده واحتجازه في مكان سري إلى حين ظهوره في المحكمة. 

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الأستاذ حسين النجار، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع فيما يعرف بقضية مجموعة (الإمارات 94)

تم توثيق جملة من الانتهاكات القانونية أثناء المحاكمة، حيث رفض القاضي الاعتداد بأقوال الأستاذ حسين النجار فيما يتعلق بتعرضه للإخفاء القسري والتعذيب أثناء فترة الاحتجاز، كما لم يتم السماح له بالتمثيل القانوني أو الاطّلاع على ملف القضية، بالإضافة إلى غياب أي أدلة مادية في التهمة الموجهة له، وهو ما يسقط الحكم بالحبس والذي أتى نهائياً غير قابلٍ للطعن.
تتواصل الممارسات اللاإنسانية في حق حسين علي النجار وعدد من معتقلي الرأي داخل سجن الرزين، وذلك بالحرمان من أبسط الحقوق من وجود تهوية في الزنزانة وخروج للتريض وأداء الشعائر الدينية الجماعية، كما يتم منعه من الزيارات والاتصالات الهاتفية لفترات متفاوتة دون ذكر الأسباب.


وللتأثير على نفسية المعتقل وترهيبه تم اعتقال ابنه ومحاكمته بسبب الدفاع عنه.