Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Said Al-Wahidi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 25, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Said Nasser Said Othman Al-Wahidi, born in 1964, is the former head of the Environmental Education and Training Department at the Emirates Heritage Club, an educator and trainer. He holds a BA in the College of Science, specialized in Biology.
Al-Wahidi was appointed as a teacher, then an assistant principal, then director of the Future Model School, and a member of the board of directors of the Friends of the Environment Association. In addition, he is a member of the Editorial Board, a writer for Nibras Magazine, and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Environmental Affairs.


His apprehension and trial 
On July 25, 2012, the UAE State Security Agency arrested Al-Wahidi without an arrest warrant and placed him in enforced disappearance until he appeared before court.
During detention, Al-Wahidi was subjected to various forms of torture and degrading treatment from the security forces. They placed him in solitary confinement and was not allowed to see visitors or contact family for a long time except once.
Al-Wahidi was subjected to intimidation and psychological torture. He was repeatedly placed in solitary confinement with night lighting, and summons beyond the control of the prosecution, which had a negative impact on his health.
Many of the legal violations against Al-Wahidi were documented, including the refusal of his request to release him on bail, the deprivation of exercise and exposure to the sun, and the prevention from contacting his family.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Wahidi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial, as he and other prisoners of conscience were sentenced to imprisonment without any material evidence of the charges against them, and every reason to drop such sentences was ignored.
Al-Wahidi and other prisoners of conscience serve their sentences in Al-Razeen Prison in conditions are inhumane as they are placed in solitary confinement for long periods of time without reasons.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Denied most basic rights, such as healthy food, the practice of sports and entertainment activities, and going out in the sun, newspapers and books

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim and issuing an unappealable judgement

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

سعيد الواحدي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 25 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بدون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

سعيد ناصر سعيد عثمان الواحدي مواليد عام 1964، رئيس قسم التوعية والتدريب البيئي بنادي تراث الامارات سابقاً، تربوي ومدرب حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في كلية العلوم قسم الأحياء.
عين سعيد الواحدي مدرساً وبعدها مساعد مدير ومن ثم مدير مدرسة المستقبل النموذجية، وعضو مجلس إدارة جمعية أصدقاء البيئة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فهو عضو هيئة تحرير وكاتب في مجلة نبراس ومدير تحرير مجلة شؤون بيئية.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في 25 يوليو 2012، تمت قوة تابعة لجهاز أمن الدولة الإماراتي باعتقال الأستاذ سعيد دون مذكرة اعتقال وبقيَ الواحدي في الإخفاء القسري إلى حين ظهور في المحكمة 

أثناء اعتقاله، تعرض الواحدي للتعذيب والمعاملة المهينة من قبل قوات الأمن فقد تم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي ومنع من الزيارة طيلة فترة احتجازه ولم يسمح لأهله برؤيته إلا مرة واحدة ولفترة قصيرة.
تعرض سعيد ناصر إلى الترهيب والتعذيب النفسي وذلك باستمرار الحبس الانفرادي والإضاءة الليلية والاستدعاءات الخارجة عن سيطرة النيابة والتي كان لها تأثير سلبي على صحته، فظهر في التحقيقات منهك الجسد ضعيف البنية واضحة عليه آثار التعذيب.
تم توثيق العديد من الانتهاكات القانونية في حق الواحدي والمتمثلة في رفض طلبه إخلاء سبيله بكفالة كما تم حرمانه من التريض والتعرض للشمس وحرمانه من زيارة أهله وقصر المكالمات الهاتفية.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي علي سعيد ناصر الواحدي بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير شرعي. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94). 

اعتبرت هذه المحاكمة غير عادلة لعدم قانونيتها شكلاً ومضموناً، فقد تم الحكم ضد الواحدي ومجموعة أخرى من معتقلي الرأي بالسجن في تهم لم يتم إثباتها بأدلة واضحة، كما تم تجاهل كل مسببات إسقاط الأحكام الصادرة ضدهم.

يقضي سعيد ناصر الواحدي مدة سجنه مع غيره من معتقلي الرأي في سجن الرزين في ظروف أقل ما يقال عنها انها لا إنسانية لعدم توفر ابسط حقوق السجين في الغذاء الصحي وممارسة الأنشطة الرياضية والترفيهية والخروج للشمس، بل تمادت السلطات الأمنية في حربها النفسية ضد المعتقلين بحرمانهم من تأدية الشعائر الدينية الجماعية والحصول على الصحف والكتب وحجزهم في الحبس الانفرادي لفترات طويلة دون أسباب.