Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ahmed Al-Suwaidi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 30, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Ahmed Saqr Muhammad Obaid Al-Suwaidi, born in 1965, is the vice Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the Dubai Award for the Holy Qur’an, and the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Manarat for Educational Consultations. He holds a BA in Arabic language from the College of Arts at the United Arab Emirates University. He held several key positions including: 
- Director of the Islamic Scientific Institute in Ajman
- Director of the Islamic Scientific Institute Center for Teaching Adults
- A teacher of the Arabic language for 8 years

His apprehension and trial
Due to his support for the reform call in the country and his signature on the Third of March Petition, on July 30, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Suwaidi while driving his car. He was arrested on Sharjah Airport Street with no charges or a legal arrest warrant. Then, he remained in enforced disappearance until he appeared before court.
Wholesale violations were committed against Al-Suwaidi as he was denied his right to legal representation, and his request to give his family a mandate was rejected. Plus, no one was provided any information his condition and whereabouts for months.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Suwaidi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
In Al-Razeen Prison, known as the Prison of Conscience, Al-Suwaidi is subjected various forms of torture and inhumane practices, including denial of visits for long periods, prevention of going out for exercise, and confiscation of personal items such as books, pens and papers. Plus, they threaten to place him in solitary confinement each time he objects something against the poor conditions.
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial as it witnessed several legal infringements, most important of which the denial of the victim’s right to legal representation. They did not consider his statements that he was subjected to degrading treatment and violence, and failed to investigate into the interrogations circumstances and forged confessions in the case file.
Several human rights organizations considered the arrest of Al-Suwaidi is a backward step in the history of the UAE in human rights as the authorities did not abide by the international laws and conventions against torture. 
 

Violations against the detainee

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

  • Depriving the victim of legal representation, as lawyers had been threatened not to represent cases, which violates UN Principles and Guidelines on Access to Legal Aid in Criminal Justice Systems.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

أحمد السويدي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 30 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

أحمد صقر محمد عبيد السويدي عام 1965، نائب رئيس اللجنة المنظمة لجائزة دبي للقرآن الكريم، ورئيس مجلس إدارة منارات للاستشارات التعليمية وحاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في اللغة العربية من كلية الآداب في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وعمل مديراً للمعهد العلمي الإسلامي بعجمان ومدير مركز المعهد العلمي الإسلامي لتعليم الكبار كما عمل مدرساً للغة العربية لمدة 8 سنوات

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
بسبب دعمه للدعوة الإصلاحية في البلاد وتوقيعه على "عريضة 3 مارس" اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي الأستاذ أحمد صقر السويدي في 30 يوليو 2012 اثناء قيادته سيارته حيث تم توقيفه بشارع مطار الشارقة دون أن توجه لهم تهم مباشرة ودون مذكرة اعتقال قانونية بقي بعدها السويدي في الإخفاء القسري إلى حين ظهوره في المحكمة.

وقد وثقت انتهاكات بالجملة في حق الاستاذ أحمد السويدي حيث تم منعه من مقابلة محاميه طيلة فترة احتجازه كما تم رفض طلبه عمل وكالة للأسرة، ولم يتم تقديم أي معلومات حول حالته ومكان وجوده لمدة أشهر.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم أحمد صقر السويدي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مَثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

داخل سجن الرزين المعروف بسجن الرأي يتعرض السويدي إلى شتى أنواع الممارسات اللاإنسانية والمتمثلة في الحرمان من الزيارة لفترات طويلة ومنع الخروج للتريض ومصادرة الأغراض الشخصية من كتب وأقلام وأوراق، مع التهديد بالسجن الانفرادي مع كل اعتراض عن الظروف السيئة داخل السجن.

كانت محاكمة السويدي تفتقر لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة لما فيها من إخلالات إجرائية وقانونية، كان أهمها عدم السماح للمعتقل بالتمثيل القانوني وعدم الاعتداد بأقواله حول ما تعرض له من اعتداء بالعنف ومعاملة مهينة، إضافة إلى رفض التحقيق في مجريات التحقيق والاعترافات المزورة التي تضمنها ملف القضية.

اعتبرت العديد من المنظمات الحقوقية اعتقال ومحاكمة السويدي وبقية المعتقلين المنادين بحرية الرأي هي خطوة للوراء في تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في مجال حقوق الإنسان لعدم التزامها بما تقتضيه النصوص القانونية والاتفاقيات الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب.