Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Abdulrahim Naqi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • October 12, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Abdulrahim Abdullah Abdulkarim Naqi Al-Bastaki, born in 1953, holds a BA in Sharia from the Faculty of Sharia and Law, Al-Azhar University in Cairo. He worked as the head of the planning department in the Ras Al Khaimah Educational Region, and as the President of Al-Rahma Association for Charitable Activities.
Like other UAE jurists and academics, Naqi signed the Third of March Petition, submitted to the government with the aim of bringing about reforms in the country.

His apprehension and trial 
On October 12, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Naqi from his home without an arrest warrant. During detention, he was subjected to various forms of torture, degrading treatment, and enforced disappearance. He was placed in solitary confinement and denied his right to legal representation. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced a group of people, including Naqi, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial lacked the standards of a fair trial as it witnessed a number of legal violations, including the denial of his right to legal representation, failure to investigate into the arbitrary detention and enforced disappearance he was exposed to. His family never knew where he was until he appeared before court. He was not allowed to see his case file. The final ruling was issued as an unapealable one although there was no material evidence of the charges brought against him that say he was affiliated with a secret illegal organization.
In Al-Razeen prison, Naqi was subjected to various forms of torture and inhumane treatment. He was not allowed to see the sun, practice religious rituals, or visits. Plus, all of his personal properities were confiscated.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • Not recognizing victim’s statements of being subjected to torture, which violates the United Nations Convention against Torture (UNCAT), which UAE signed in 2012.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

عبد الرحيم نقي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 12 أكتوبر 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

عبد الرحيم عبد الله عبد الكريم نقي البستكى مواليد عام 1953.، حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس شريعة من كلية الشريعة والقانون، بجامعة الأزهر بالقاهرة. عمل رئيسَ قسم التخطيط بمنطقة رأس الخيمة التعليمية سابقاً بالإضافة إلى عمله رئيساً لجمعية الرحمة للأعمال الخيرية.

انضمَّ عبد الرحيم نقي كغيره من الحقوقيين والأكاديميين الإمارتين إلى قائمة الموقعين والمؤيدين على عريضة (3 مارس) التي تقدمت إلى الحكومة بهدف إحداث إصلاحات في البلاد.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات من جهاز الأمن الإماراتي الأستاذ عبد الرحيم في 12 أكتوبر 2012 من منزله دون مذكرة اعتقال قانونية أو توجيه إتهام مباشر. أثناء اعتقاله من قبل قوات الأمن، تعرّض عبد الرحيم نقي للتعذيب والمعاملة المهينة والإخفاء القسري. فقد تم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي، علاوة على منعه من رؤية محاميه.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على مجموعة من الأشخاص، من بينهم الأستاذ عبد الرحيم نقي ، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تم توثيق جملة من الانتهاكات في حق عبد الرحيم خلال المحاكمة، فقد منع من التمثيل القانوني ورفضت النيابة اثبات الانتهاكات التي تعرض لها أثناء اعتقاله التعسفي والإخفاء القسري دون إعلام أهله بمكانه إلى حين ظهوره في المحكمة، كما تم حرمانه من حقّه في الاطلاع على ملف قضيته أو الاستعانة بمحامي علاوة على تأكيد الحكم النهائي دون الطعن فيه رغم غياب الأدلة المادية على التهمة الموجهة إليه باعتبار منتمياً لتنظيم سري غير شرعي.

تعرّض عبد الرحيم نقي في سجن الرزين إلى التعذيب والإهانة، فقد تم حرمانه من ممارسة الأنشطة خارج الزنزانة وممارسة الشعائر الدينية الجماعية كصلاة الجمعة، واحتجزت أغراضه الشخصية، ومنع من الزيارة دون أسباب.