Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Khaled Al-Yamahi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 30, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Khaled Muhammad Yousef Salem Rashid Al-Yamahi, born in 1977, is an expert in leadership development and holds a BA in Political Science and a Master's degree in Business Administration from the Australian University of Walungung. He held several key positions including: 
- Worked for McKinsey, a leading management consulting firm in change, development and enterprise
- Responsible for managing management solutions in Pakistan,
- A sales manager in an organization.

His apprehension and trial
On July 30, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Yamahi; he remained subjected to enforced disappearance until he appeared before court, around 8 months later. During detention, he was neglected and they did not provide him with the necessary health care, given the fact the he suffers from kidney disease. In the court, his health looked miserable. In addition to that, his salary, which is the only source of living for his family, has been arbitrarily cut off. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Yamahi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization, known as the “UAE 94” group. 
Al-Yamahi’s trial witnessed a number of legal violations, including the absence of material evidence of the charge against him. They only reviewed the investigation file, not allowing the detainee to see it. Plus, he was denied his right to legal representation. His statements that he was subjected to degrading treatment, arbitrary arrest and enforced disappearance, were not counted. To add, he was not allowed to see visitors. 
In Al-Razeen prison, Al-Yamahi is subjected to other forms of violations as he is placed in solitary confinement for long periods. No visits or phone calls are allowed. They confiscated all his personal properties. They subject the prisoners, including Khaled, to constant lighting, in a way to harm their psyche; they are not allowed to see the sunlight nor are they allowed to practice sport. 
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

خالد اليمّاحي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 30 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

خالد محمد يوسف سالم راشد اليمّاحي مواليد عام 1977، خبير في التطوير القيادي، حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية ودرجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة والونجونج الاسترالية. عمل مع شركة (McKinsey) الاستشارية والرائدة في مجال التغيير والتطوير والمؤسسي، مسؤولاً لإدارة (الحلول الإدارية في باكستان) وكذلك مدير لقطاع مبيعات في مؤسسة.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي خالد اليمّاحي في 30 يوليو 2012، وبقي في الاختفاء القسري في مكان سري إلى حين ظهوره في المحكمة أي بعد ما يقارب 8 أشهر تعرّض خلالها إلى الإهمال وعدم توفير الرعاية الصحية اللازمة خصوصاً وأن (اليمّاحي) مصاب بمرض الكلى وظهر في جلسات المحاكمة في حالة هزيلة، كما تم الوقف التعسفي لراتبه والذي يمثل وسيلة العيش الوحيدة لأسرته.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على خالد اليماحي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة في قضية التنظيم السري غير المشروع والتي باتت تعرف بقضية (الإمارات 94).

تم توثيق جملة من الانتهاكات القانونية أثناء محاكمة خالد اليماحي، وكان أبرزها غياب الأدلة المادية للتهمة الموجهة له والاكتفاء بالاطلاع على ملف التحقيقات الذي لم يسمح للمعتقل بالاطلاع عليه كما لم يسمح له بالتمثيل القانوني، كما لم يتم الاعتداد بأقواله فيما يخص ما تعرض له من ممارسات غير قانونية ومعاملة مهينة بدءاً بالاعتقال التعسفي والإخفاء القسري وصولاً إلى الحرمان من الحق في الزيارة وطلب محامي دفاع له.

هذه الانتهاكات تواصلت على أشكال أخرى داخل سجن الرزين، حيث يتواصل الحبس الانفرادي لفترات طويلة وعدم السماح بالزيارات والاتصالات الهاتفية، ومصادرة الأغراض الشخصية، بالإضافة إلى محاولة التأثير على نفسية المعتقلين ومن بينهم خالد اليماحي باستمرار الإضاءة الشديدة والحرمان من الخروج للشمس أو ممارسة الرياضة.