Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Muhammad Al-Roken

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 17, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Muhammad Al-Roken, born in 1962, is an Emirati lawyer working in the field of human rights, and he is a professor of international law. He holds a master's degree and a Ph.D in constitutional law from the University of Warwick in the United Kingdom. Dr. Al-Roken is a member of the International Bar Association, the former president of the UAE Jurists Association, and a founding member of the "Gulf Dam" organization. In addition, he was a professor of constitutional law at the United Arab Emirates University and author of numerous books and articles in the field of human rights. He was a former advisor to the government on legal matters.
In 2012, Al-Roken was awarded Alkarama Award for Human Rights, and he also received many awards in his field.  
In 2011, Dr. Al-Roken was involved in the Third of March petition, sent to the President of the UAE demanding the right to vote and to give legislative power to Parliament. Also, he was defending many activists and others who sufferd human rights violations, such as the "UAE 5” group.
Due to his human rights activities, Al-Roken became a target of harassment and intimidation by the UAE government, which put him under official surveillance for years. Then, he was arrested and subjected to enforced disappearance, his passport was confiscated, and he was banned from traveling. He was also prohibited from giving public lectures at the university and from writing for the national newspapers.

His apprehension and trial 
On July 17, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Roken, a prominant human rights defender, neae to his house on his way to the police station to report his son's disappearance. Al-Roken remained subjected to enforced disappearance in an unknown place for eight months.
During detention, many international reports stated that Dr. Al-Roken was subjected to various forms of torture and degrading treatment. He was placed in solitary confinement without a bed or his personal belongings. Plus, he was denied his right to legal representation.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Roken, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
It was reported that in November 2015, Dr. Al-Roken was subjected to torture in Al-Razeen prison using loudspeakers a very loud music that led him to become unconscious. Although there are alarm bells cameras in each cell, the guard did nothing. Then, doctors found out that he had high blood pressure and severe ear infections caused by the noise of the loudspeakers. After that, he was placed in solitary confinement with no visits. 
Several human rights defenders and friends of Al-Roken, lawyers and activists, denounced this unfair arrest and trial, considering that him their guide in the field in the UAE as he strongly believed in human rights, democracy and a free society. Although he knew he is watched by the state security men, he never hesitated to continue his journey in the field to help those who needed his voice and free speech.
Al-Roken’s trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial, which are guaranteed by the international standards. The UAE authorities extracted confessions from him and other prisoners of conscience under torture and intimidation. Also, he was put in solitarty confinement with no visits or legal meetings. 
A number of human rights organizations saw the arrest and trial of Al-Roken as a major loss in the field of human rights, due to his dedication and sincerity in serving human rights issues and following up on the human rights file in the UAE
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Not recognizing victim’s statements of being subjected to torture, which violates the United Nations Convention against Torture (UNCAT), which UAE signed in 2012.

  • Enforced disappearance, violating International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

محمد الركن

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري

  • 17 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بدون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس

الدكتور محمد الركن مواليد عام 1962، محامي إماراتي يعمل في مجال حقوق الإنسان، وهو أستاذ قانون دولي، ولديه ماجستير ودكتوراه في القانون الدستوري من جامعة وارويك في المملكة المتحدة. يتمتع الدكتور الركن بعضوية رابطة المحامين الدولية، والرئيس السابق لجمعية الحقوقيين في دولة الإمارات، وعضو مؤسس في منظمة (سد الخليج). علاوة على أنه كان أستاذ القانون الدستوري في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وكاتب للعديد من الكتب والمقالات في مجال حقوق الإنسان. وعُقِدَت معه لقاءاتٌ للحديث عن حقوق الإنسان. وهو معلقٌ ومحللٌ سياسي، فكان ضيفاً على الشاشة مراراً للتعليق على أحداثٍ مختلفة، خاصةً فيما يتعلّق بالشأن الإيراني-الخليجي.

في عام 2012، حصل الركن على جائزة منظمة الكرامة لحقوق الإنسان وجائزة لودوفيك تراريو الدولية لحقوق الإنسان لسنة 2017. وكان من بين المُرَشّحين النهائيين لجائزة عام 2014 التي تُقدّمها فرونت لاين ديفندرز للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان الذين يواجهون الأخطار. وهو أيضاً حاصل على العديد من الجوائز في مجال عمله من دولة الإمارات، فضلًا عن كونه مستشاراً سابقاً للحكومة في المسائل القانونية.

في عام 2011، ساهم الدكتور الركن في العريضة المرسلة إلى رئيس دولة الإمارات تطالب بالحق في التصويت وأن تعطي السلطة التشريعية إلى البرلمان. مدافعاً في الوقت نفسه أيضاً وبشكل مجاني عن العديد من النشطاء وغيرهم من الذين واجهوا انتهاكات في مجال حقوق الإنسان مثل مجموعة (الإمارات 5).

بسبب نشاطه الحقوقي، أصبح الركن هدفاً للمضايقة والترهيب من الحكومة الإماراتية، وظل تحت المراقبة الرسمية لسنوات بسبب عمله، وتم القبض عليه وإخفاؤه قسراً، قبل أن يتم مصادرة جواز سفره ومنعه من السفر. ومنعه أيضًا من إعطاء المحاضرات العامة في الجامعة ومن الكتابة في الصحف الوطنية.

اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي المدافع البارز عن حقوق الإنسان الدكتور محمد الركن في 17 يوليو 2012 بالقرب من منزله بينما كان في طريقه إلى مركز الشرطة للإبلاغ عن اختفاء ابنه. وبقي الركن في الاختفاء القسري مدة ثمانية أشهر وفي مكان غير معلوم.

إبان اعتقاله، نقلت العديد من التقارير الدولية تعرض الدكتور الركن أثناء اعتقاله من قبل قوات الأمن، للتعذيب والمعاملة المهينة، فقد تم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي بدون سرير وبدون أغراضه الشخصية، علاوة على منعه من رؤية محاميه.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم الدكتور الركن، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة. وكان قد مُثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

ذكرت تقارير أن الدكتور الركن تعرض في نوفمبر عام 2015 للتعذيب في سجن الرزين بمكبرات صوت وتم وضع موسيقى عالية جداً، أدت إلى غياب الركن عن الوعي وعلى الرغم من إطلاق جرس الإنذار ووجود الكاميرات في كل زنزانة لم يكن هناك أي رد فعل من الحارس. في النهاية اكتشف الأطباء أنّ لديه ارتفاعاً في ضغط الدم والتهابا حاداً في الأذن سببه ضوضاء المكبرات الصوتية. وبعد ذلك تم نقله إلى الحبس الانفرادي ومنع الزيارة عنه.

وقد استنكر العديد من الحقوقيين وأصدقاء الركن من محامين ونشطاء اعتقاله ومحاكمته غير العادلة معتبرين أنه كان دليلهم لحالة حقوق الإنسان في الإمارات وكان يؤمن كثيراً بقضية حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية وبمجتمع أكثر انفتاحاً. رغم أنه كان يعلم أنه تحت مراقبة رجال الدولة، إلا إنه لم يتردد في العمل الحقوقي ولا في مساعدة من يحتاجون صوته وكلمته الحرة.

كانت محاكمة الركن تفتقر لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة والتي تتفق حولها المعايير الحقوقية الدولية كما أن السلطات انتزعت منه ومن غيره من معتقلي الرأي الاعترافات تحت التهديد والتعذيب بالإضافة إلى وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي ومنعه من مقابلة المحامي.

اعتبرت العديد من المنظمات الحقوقية اعتقال ومحاكمة الركن خسارة كبيرة للعمل الحقوقي خاصة لما كان يتميز به الدكتور من تفاني وإخلاص في خدمة القضايا الحقوقية ومتابعة الملف الحقوقي في دولة الإمارات.