Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Musbeh Al-Rumaithi

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 24, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Musbeh Jumah Darwish Kaddas Al-Rumaithi, born in 1968, holds a master's degree in educational administration. He worked as a department manager in the Financial and Legal Affairs Department of the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority. He was known for his gentleness, love for his country and his pursuit of reform, so he signed the Third of March Petition, calling for political reform in the country. 

His apprehension and trial
On July 24, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Al-Rumaithi on his way to his home after Tarawih prayers. He was taken, blindfolded and handcuffed, to an unknown place. He was forced to sign investigation papers without having access to them, and remained subjected to enforced disappearance during his detention. He was placed in solitary confinement, subjected to torture and defamation, and prevented from seeing a lawyer, visiting his family or giving mandate to his family.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced Al-Rumaithi to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. Al-Rumaithi was subjected to various forms of torture and degrading treatment in Al-Razeen prison. All of his personal properties were confiscate; he was not allowed to see the sun light or go out for a long time.
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial as authorities forced him to sign paper, confessions, and forged evidence under threat and torture. Plus, he was placed in solitary confinement and denied his right to legal representation.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

  • Depriving the victim of legal representation, as lawyers had been threatened not to represent cases, which violates UN Principles and Guidelines on Access to Legal Aid in Criminal Justice Systems.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

مصبّح الرميثي

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 24 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

مصبّح جمعة درويش كداس الرميثي مواليد عام 1968، حاصل على درجة الماجستير في الإدارة التربوية وعمل مديراً لقسم في دائرة الشؤون المالية والقانونية بجهاز أبو ظبي للاستثمار سابقاً. عرف عن الرميثي دماثة أخلاقه وحبه لوطنه وسعيه للإصلاح وهو ما دفعه للمشاركة والتوقيع على ما يعرف بـ(عريضة 3 مارس) الداعية للإصلاح السياسي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن الإماراتي مصبح الرميثي في 24 يوليو 2012 طريقه إلى منزله بعد صلاة التراويح وتم نقله إلى مكان مجهول وهو معصوب العينين ومقيد بالأصفاد، واُجبر على التوقيع على أوراق التحقيقات دون الاطّلاع عليها وبقي الرميثي في الاخفاء القسري طيلة مدة احتجازه أثناء اعتقاله، تعرّض الرميثي للسب والقذف وتم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي علاوة على منعه من رؤية محامي، وزيارة أسرته أو عمل توكيل لأن أمور أهله واقفة.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبو ظبي على مصبّح الرميثي، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع.  وكان قد مثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94). تعرض الرميثي كغيره من معتقلي الرأي للتعذيب والإهانة في سجن الرزين، فقد تمت مصادرة أغراضه الشخصية وحرمانه من ممارسة أي أنشطة خارج الزنزانة لفترات طويلة.

وصفت محاكمة مصبّح الرميثي بالمحاكمة الجائرة التي لا تتفق حولها المعايير الحقوقية الدولية، فقد قامت السلطات بإجباره على التوقيع على أوراق الاعترافات تحت التهديد والتعذيب وتقديم أدلة مزورة لإدانته دون حق، بالإضافة إلى وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي ومنعه من التمثيل القانوني